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DEPARTMENT OF EARLY LEARNING AND CARE 

Chapter 414, Division 310 

Rules for Certified School-Age Centers 

414-310-0100  Definitions 

The following words and terms within these rules have the following meanings: 

(1) "Activity Area" means the area of the center that is available, during all the hours of operation, for the 
children's activities. This area excludes but is not limited to kitchens, hallways, toilet rooms, lockers, 
offices, storage areas, staff room, furnace room, and the part of rooms occupied by stationary 
equipment and fixtures not used by children.  

(2) “Applicant” means a person, business entity, or governing body who submits the child care license 
application and in whose name the certificate will be issued. 

(3) “Assistant Program Leader” means staff who support Program Leaders in caring for children but who 
must be directly supervised. 

(4) "Attendance" means children present in the care of the center at any given time. 

(5) "Behavior and Guidance" means the on‐going process of helping children develop self-control and 
assume responsibility for their own behaviors and actions. 

(6) "Business Day” means Monday through Friday, but does not include any holidays as defined by ORS 
187.010 and ORS 189.020, or any day that the central office of CCLD is closed. 

(7) "Capacity" means the total number of children in care at the school-age center or in care away from 
the center at any one time.   

(8) "Caregiver" means any person in the center, who works directly with the children, providing care, 
supervision, and guidance. 

(9) “CBR” (Central Background Registry) means CCLD’s Registry of individuals who have been approved to 
be associated with a child care facility in Oregon pursuant to ORS 329A.030 and OAR 414‐061‐0000 
through 414‐061‐0120. 

(a) “CBR Enrollment” means approval for a 5 year period to be enrolled in the CBR following an 
Oregon State Police criminal records check, child abuse and neglect records check, checks of adult 
protective services and foster care certification, and an FBI records check. 

(b)  “CBR Conditional Enrollment” means temporary approval to be enrolled in the CBR following an 
Oregon State Police records check and child abuse and neglect records check but prior to receipt 
by CCLD of the results of the required FBI records check. 

(10) “CCLD” means Child Care Licensing Division in the Department of Early Learning and Care (DLEC). 
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(11) "Child Care" means the care, supervision, and guidance on a regular basis of a child, unaccompanied by 
a parent, guardian, or custodial parent, during a part of the 24 hours of the day, with or without 
compensation.  

(12) “Child with Specific Needs” means a child who requires specialized supports or other accommodations 
including some adaptation of the center's standard program of care, activities or equipment to 
accommodate a physical, developmental, behavioral, mental or medical condition or disability which is 
either permanent or temporary.  

(13) “Children Related within the Fourth Degree” includes the child’s grandparent, great-grandparent, 
sibling, aunt, uncle, brothers, sisters, nephews, nieces, great-nephews, great-nieces, and first cousins.  

(14) “Civil Penalty” means a fine imposed by CCLD on a facility for violation of these rules. 

(15) “Comparable Group Care Program” means a program which has the following elements: 

(a) Staff are supervised by knowledgeable professionals; 

(b) Training of staff is provided or required annually; 

(c) Group size is similar to a certified child care facility; and 

(d) Curriculum is developmentally appropriate. 

(16) "Contracted Services" means activities (e.g., tumbling, music, soccer classes) provided on the 
premises by an organization or program other than the center.  

(17) “Developmentally Appropriate" means: 

(a) A caregiver interacts with each child in a way that recognizes and respects the child's 
chronological and developmental age; 

(b) Knowledge about how children grow and learn; 

(c) The developmental level of the individual child; and 

(d) Interactions and activities are planned with the developmental needs of the individual child in 
mind.  

(18) “Disinfect" means to eliminate virtually all germs from an inanimate surface by the process of cleaning 
and rinsing, followed by: 

(a) A chlorine bleach and water solution following the manufacturer's instructions; or 

(b) Other disinfectant products registered with the EPA, if used strictly according to the 
manufacturer's label instructions including, but not limited to, quantity, time the product must 
be left in place, adequate time to allow the product to dry or rinsing if applicable, and 
appropriateness for use on the surface to be disinfected. Any disinfectant used on food contact 
surfaces or toys must be labeled "safe for food.” 

(19) "Family" means a group of individuals related by blood, marriage or adoption, or individuals whose 
functional relationships are like those found in such associations. 

(20) “Field Trip” means an excursion or program activity with a specific destination away from the center 
that begins when staff and children leave the center’s property, whether by vehicle or by walking. It 
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does not include neighborhood walks, routine school or home pick-up and drop-offs provided by the 
center.    

(21) "Fire Code Official" means a Fire Inspector II, Fire Marshal, Deputy State Fire Marshal or designated 
person defined by ORS 476.030, ORS 476.060 and OAR 837-039-0016. 

(22) “Hazards” means anything that may inflict injury or cause harm. 

(23) "Infestation" means the invasion of insects and worms that causes a disease to the host. These insects 
can be mites, ticks, fleas or lice. Worms can be roundworms, pinworms, flatworms or other helminths. 

(24) "License" means the document that is issued by CCLD to a school-age center. A license may also be 
referred to as a certificate. 

(25) "Lockdown" means restricted to an interior room with few or no windows while the facility or building 
is secured from a threat.  

(26) "Night Care" means care given between 9 p.m. and 5 a.m. or when any enrolled child sleeps for more 
than three hours at the center. 

(27) “Operator” means the person, group, corporation, partnership, governing body, association, or other 
public or private organization legally responsible for the overall operation of the center and who has 
the authority to perform the duties necessary to meet certification requirements. If the operator is 
other than the owner, an individual must be appointed as the operator by the owner.  

(28) "Oregon Registry" means the voluntary registry at the Oregon Center for Career Development in 
Childhood Care and Education at Portland State University that documents the training, education and 
experience of individuals who work in childhood care and education. 

(29) "Oregon Registry Online” (ORO) means the statewide database that stores all submitted training and 
education to be verified for use by CCLD. 

(30)  "Owner" means the person, group, corporation, partnership, governing body, association, or other 
public or private organization legally responsible for the overall operation of the center and who has 
the authority to perform the duties necessary to meet certification requirements.  

(31) "Parent" means a child’s parent, a guardian, or a person 18 years of age or older with supervisory 
responsibility of the child in the absence of the child’s parent.  

(32) “Physical Restraint” means purposely limiting or obstructing the freedom of a person’s bodily 
movement. Physical restraint does not include: 

(a) Holding a child to comfort the child when in distress; 

(b) Guiding a child to move them safely from one area to another without the use of force (e.g. 
redirecting a child to another activity); 

(c) Assisting a child to complete a task, if the child does not resist the physical contact (helping 
a child to tie their shoe, or hold a pencil or tool);or 

(d) Any prohibited discipline or action listed in OAR 414-310-0420. 

(33) “Potentially Hazardous Food” means any food or beverage containing milk or milk products, eggs, 
meat, fish, shellfish, poultry, cooked rice, beans or pasta, and all other previously cooked foods, 
including leftovers. 
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(34) “Premises” means the physical space and building, or portions of a physical space or building, used by a 
center, including all areas indoor or outdoor, directly accessible to the child care children and center 
staff, and all areas not generally accessible if used for any purpose related to child care. This includes 
but is not limited to laundry rooms, kitchens, offices, staff break rooms, or storage rooms. 

(35) "Program Coordinator" means the person responsible for coordinating overall management and 
operation of the center of one or multiple sites. 

(36) “Program Leader” means the staff member who is designated by the Program Coordinator and meets 
the qualifications of a Program Leader who is responsible for the day-to-day operation of the program 
and supervision of children. 

(37) “Restrictable Disease” means an illness or infection as identified by the Health Division that would 
prohibit the child from attending child care. 

(38) “Sanitizing" means using a treatment that provides enough heat or concentration of chemicals for 
enough time to reduce the bacterial count, including disease‐producing organisms, to a safe level on 
utensils, equipment, and toys. 

(39) “School-Age Center” means a child care center that provides care only for school-age children eligible 
to be enrolled in kindergarten or above in the next school year, and which does not include night care 
as defined by these rules, in a nonresidential setting. 

(40) “School‐Age Child" means a child eligible to attend kindergarten or above in public school. This 
includes the months from the end of the prior school year to the start of the kindergarten school year.  

(41) "Serious Injury or Incident" means any of the following: 

(a) Injury requiring surgery; 

(b) Injury requiring admission to a hospital; 

(c) Injury requiring emergency medical attention; 

(d) Choking and unexpected breathing problems; 

(e) Unconsciousness; 

(f) Concussion; 

(g) Poisoning; 

(h) Medication overdose; 

(i) Broken or dislocated bone; 

(j) Severe head or neck injury; 

(k) Chemical contact in eyes, mouth, skin, inhalation or ingestion; 

(l) All burns; 

(m) Allergic reaction requiring administration of Epi‐Pen; 

(n) Severe bleeding or stitches; 

(o) Shock or confused state; or 

(p) Near‐drowning. 

(42) “Serious Complaint” and “Serious Violation” means an allegation or finding of noncompliance in 
which: 
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(a) Children are in imminent danger; 

(b) There are more children in care than allowed by licensed capacity; 

(c) Disciplinary methods prohibited under OAR 414-310-0420 are being used; 

(d) Children are not being supervised; 

(e) Multiple or serious fire, health or safety hazards are present in the center; 

(f) Extreme unsanitary conditions are present in the center;  

(g) Adults are in the center who are not enrolled in the CBR; or 

(h) A center is providing child care without the appropriate certification. 

(43) "Shelter-in-Place" means staff and children staying at the center due to an external threat such as a 
storm, chemical or gas leak or explosion, or other event that prohibits the occupants from safely 
leaving the building.  

(44) "Staff" means an individual who is an employee, or a volunteer who is in the center for more than a 
single activity. 

(45) "Supervision" means the act of caring for a child or group of children. This includes awareness of and 
responsibility for the ongoing activity of each child. It requires physical presence, knowledge of 
children's needs, and accountability for their care and well‐being. Supervision also requires that 
caregivers be near and have ready access to children in order to intervene when needed. 

(46) “Technical Assistance” means consultation and advice given to providers to assist them in 
maintaining compliance. 

(47) “Unsupervised Access to Children” means contact with children that provides the person 
opportunity for personal communication or touch when not under the direct supervision of a 
qualified child care provider or staff with supervisory authority. 

(48) “Visitor” means someone who is at the program for a single event, including but not limited to: a 
repair person, privately contracted professional working with an individual child, or librarian visiting 
the program. Visitors are not potential employees and are not counted in ratio. 

(49) "Volunteer" includes any person who provides labor or services to a child care center but is not 
compensated with employment pay or benefits. A volunteer must never have unsupervised access 
to a child unless the volunteer is the child’s parent or if the volunteer is enrolled in the Central 
Background Registry.  
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414-310-0110  Purpose 

(1) A school-age center is defined as a child care facility that is certified to provide care for a number 
of school-age children up to the maximum capacity in a setting other than a family child care 
home. 

(2) The purpose of OAR 414-310-0100 through OAR 414-310-0720 is to protect the health, safety, and 
wellbeing of school-age children when cared for outside their own homes by providing 
requirements for inspecting, certifying, monitoring, and otherwise regulating care in a certified 
school-age center. 

(3) A person or entity may not operate a school-age center without a valid certificate issued by CCLD, 
unless exempt from registration or certification as provided in ORS 329A.250(5)(a) through (j) and 
OAR 414-310-0120. 

414-310-0120  Exemptions from Licensing 

A child care facility is exempt from certification if the facility: 

(1) Provides care in the home of the child; 

(2) Is the child’s parent, a guardian or person acting in place of a parent; 

(3) Is related to the child by blood, marriage or adoption within the fourth degree; 

(4) Is a member of the child’s extended family unit, as determined by CCLD on a case-by-case basis; 

(5) Provides care infrequently or intermittently, including but not limited to care that is provided 
during summer or other holiday breaks when children are not attending school, for fewer than 70 
days in a calendar year; 

(6) Is a provider of medical services; 

(7) Provides care for children from only one family, not including the provider’s children; 

(8) Provides care for three or fewer children, not including the provider’s children; 

(9) Provides care for preschool-age children that is primarily educational for 4 hours or less per day 
and where no preschool-age child is present at the facility for more than 4 hours per day; 

(10) Provides care for school-age children that is not intended for child care purposes and is primarily a 
single enrichment activity, such as swimming lessons, dance lessons, tutoring, music lessons, sports 
practice, or any single class in any subject, where no child attends for more than 8 hours per week; 

(11) Provides group athletic or social activities sponsored by or under the supervision of an organized 
club or hobby group. This exclusion applies only to the time engaged in the group athletic or social 
activities; 

(12) Is operated by a school district, charter school, political subdivision of this state, or a government agency; 

(13) Operates as a parent cooperative for no more than four hours a day and: 

(a) Care is provided on a rotating basis by parents that are members of the cooperative; and 

(b) Are overseen by a board of directors responsible for developing written program policies and 
procedures that are shared with all members. 
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(14) Provides care while the child's parent or person responsible for the child remains on the premises and is 
engaged in an activity on site, and: 

(a) A facility informs parents that the facility’s program is not licensed by the state; 

(b) Activities do not include work or attending school; and 

(c) Caregivers are always able to contact the parent(s). 

(15) Provide youth development activities, as defined in ORS 329A.250(14), to school-age children during 
hours that school is not in session and which does not take the place of a parent’s care. 

414-310-0130  Application Process 

(1) An applicant must submit an original and complete application for a certificate on the forms provided by 
CCLD: 

(a) For the  initial certificate; 

(b) For the annual renewal of the certificate; 

(c) Whenever there is a change of owner; 

(d) Whenever the center moves to a new location; or 

(e) For increase of capacity. 

(2) An applicant that is not the owner of the school-age center must identify the owner on the application. 

(3) If an applicant is a corporation, association, or other public or private organization or agency, the 
application must be signed by the chief executive officer, or a person designated in writing to have the 
authority to sign the application. If an applicant is a partnership, the application must be signed by 
each partner. 

(4) A school-age center must submit a non-refundable filing fee with the application. 

(a) For the initial application, a change of owner, the reopening of a center after a lapse in 
certification, or a change of location (except when a center is forced to move due to 
circumstances beyond the control of the owner), the fee is $100 plus $2 for each certified 
space. For example, the fee for a child care center certified to care for 30 children is $100 +$60 
= $160. 

(b) For a renewal application, the fee is $2 for each licensed capacity space. 

(c) For an increase in capacity, the fee is $2 for each additional capacity space. 

(5) A school-age center must complete and submit an application to CCLD at least: 

(a) 45 days before the planned opening date of a new center or change of owner or location; and 

(b) 30 days prior to the expiration of the certificate for a renewal. 

(A) If an application for renewal and payment of the required fee is received at least 30 days 
prior to the expiration date of the current certificate, the current certificate, unless 
officially revoked, remains in force until CCLD has acted on the application for renewal 
and has given notice of the action taken. 
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(B) If an application for renewal and payment of the required fee is not received at least 30 
days prior to the expiration date of the current certificate, the certificate will expire 
and the school-age center must cease operations unless the renewal is completed prior 
to the expiration date. 

(6) An applicant must provide the following items with the application for an initial certificate, change of 
owner, change of address and when the center indoor floor plan or outdoor areas change: 

(a) Evidence that the school-age center meets all applicable building codes and zoning 
requirements, unless the center is in a public school building; 

(b) Approval by an environmental health specialist registered under ORS chapter 700 or an 
authorized representative of the Oregon Health Authority; 

(c) Approval by a state or local fire code official prior to the initial certification date. If the school 
age center is housed in a public school, CCLD will accept the most recent fire code inspection 
conducted at the school, if conducted within the last two years; 

(d) A floor plan. If the school-age center is located within or attached to a building used for 
purposes other than child care, the floor plan must also show that space and how it is 
used; and 

(e) Initial or current lead testing results for each source of drinking water, as required in OAR 414-
310-0460. 

(7) An application for renewal of a school-age center certificate may be approved by CCLD upon CCLD’s 
receipt of the following: 

(a) Written approval by an environmental health specialist registered under ORS 
chapter 700 or an authorized representative of the Oregon Health Authority; 

(b) Written approval by a state or local fire code official within the last two years of the renewal 
date; and 

(c) CCLD’s Health and Safety inspection completed successfully with the center’s CCLD licensor. 

(8) The applicant must submit a floor plan to CCLD, the environmental health specialist, the fire code 
official, and the local building department prior to initial construction, remodel, or change in location. 
If the center is located in a public school building, the floor plan may only be submitted to CCLD. An 
applicant is responsible for payment of any applicable fees for fire safety and sanitation inspections. 

(9) An applicant must pay in full all civil penalties established by final order against the applicant or be 
compliant with an CCLD approved payment plan before CCLD will process an initial or renewal 
application. 

(10) If CCLD has not approved, issued a notice of intent to deny, or issued a final order by default or after 
a contested case hearing denying an application within 12 months of the date the application 
was submitted to CCLD, the application may be closed, subject to the applicant’s right to submit a 
new application at any time. This rule does not apply if: 

(a) The application is not a timely application; or 

(b) CCLD has issued a notice of intent to deny the application that has resulted in a final order or 
withdrawal. 
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(11) Notwithstanding OAR 414-310-0130(10), an applicant is not required to submit a new application 
if CCLD has issued a notice of intent to deny the application and applicant has timely requested a 
contested case hearing. 

414-310-0140  Issuance of Certification 

(1) Upon receipt of a completed application, a school-age center will be evaluated by a 
representative of CCLD to determine if it meets all certification requirements. 

(2) CCLD will issue a regular school-age center certification when the center is determined to be in 
compliance with all of these rules. A regular school-age center certification is valid for no more 
than one year. 

(3) CCLD will issue a temporary school-age center certificate when the center is determined to be in 
compliance with most of these rules, CCLD has not identified deficiencies that are hazardous to 
children, and the operator demonstrates an effort to be in full compliance. 

(a) CCLD may issue a temporary school-age certification when a renewal application is 
submitted less than 30 days prior to the certification expiration date or in response to an 
initial application. 

(b) A school-age center may not operate under a temporary certification for more than 180 days 
in any 12month period. 

(c) CCLD may deny an initial or renewal application or revoke a temporary certificate if 
deficiencies continue while the temporary certification is in effect. 

(4) A school-age center may not operate after expiration or revocation of a temporary certificate 
unless a prior regular certification is active due to a renewal application submitted more than 
30 days before the regular certification expiration date. 

(5) A school-age center certificate cannot be transferred to any other location or to another organization 
or individual. 

(6) A school-age center must request in writing to CCLD any changes in the conditions of the certificate 
such as center capacity, age range of children, changes in room use, or hours of operation. A school-
age center must receive approval from CCLD before making such changes. 

414-310-0150  Certification Process 

(1) A school-age center must comply with the conditions of the certificate when admitting children, 
including, but not limited to, capacity, hours of operation, age range, and special conditions. 

(2) A school-age center must allow representatives of all agencies involved in certification to have 
immediate access to all areas of the center and premises when child care children are present, 
including: 

(a) Areas deemed inaccessible to children, including rooms not typically used for child care, 
second floors and other structures on the property; 

(b) Records of children enrolled in the center, and all records and reports related to the child 
care operation regarding compliance with these rules; and 
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(c) All staff. 

(3) A school-age center certification may be denied, suspended or revoked if the owner has been 
removed, denied or suspended from the CBR. 

(4) If a complaint alleges that a school-age center is not in compliance with these rules, an assessment 
is made which may include a visit, interviews with the center staff, records review, and program 
observation to determine whether a complaint allegation is valid, unable to substantiate, or 
invalid. 

(5) Information that a school-age center provides to CCLD on applications, in records or reports, or any 
other written or verbal communication, must be current, complete, and accurate. 

(6) Parental request or permission to waive any of the rules for the certification of child care 
centers does not give a school-age center permission to do so. 

(7) CCLD certification records are open to the public on request, including findings of complaint 
investigations. However, information protected by state or federal law and the names of 
children and adults will not be disclosed. 

414-310-0160  Exceptions to Rules 

(1) A school-age center may request an exception to a rule on a form provided by CCLD for a specified 
period of time when: 

(a) A requirement does not apply to the center; or 

(b) The intent of the requirement can be met by a method not specified in the applicable rule. 

(2) An exception request must include: 

(a) A justification for the requested exception; and 

(b) An explanation of how the center will meet the intent of the rule. 

(3) An exception request will not be granted: 

(a) If the requirement is established by state or federal law; or 

(b) If the health, safety, and well‐being of the children cannot be ensured. 

(4) A school-age center must remain in compliance with the rule as written until CCLD approves the 
exception request. 

(5) In certain circumstances, a school-age center may be granted an ongoing exception that will be 
reviewed annually to confirm the center is in compliance with all exception requirements.  

(6) Each exception request is unique to the applicable center and is evaluated on its own merits. The 
granting of an exception to a rule does not set a precedent. 

(7) CCLD may withdraw approval of an exception at any time, to ensure the health, safety and well‐
being of the children. 
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414-310-0170  Policies 

(1) A school-age center must have written policies identified in 414-310-0170 (2)(a-t) and provide them 
to: 

(a) Staff and volunteers at the time of hire and when policies change; and 

(b) Parents at the time of a child’s enrollment and when policies change. 

(2) A school-age center must provide the following written information to parents, staff, and volunteers: 

(a) Name, business address, and business telephone number of the person(s) who has 
immediate responsibility for the daily operation of the center; 

(b) A center description including the licensed capacity, ages and number of children in care, 
hours, days and months of operation, closure dates and observed holidays, and staff-to-
child ratios; 

(c) Arrival and departure procedures, including sign in and out requirements and individuals 
authorized for pick-up; 

(d) Parent responsibilities for providing current required information and what parents are 
expected to provide; 

(e) Health policies and procedures to include handwashing methods, medication 
administration, use of insect repellent and sunscreen, care of children who are ill and 
exclusion criteria, and response to injuries (also see OAR 414-310-0560 Injuries); 

(f) Safety measures including injury prevention, use of pesticides and other potentially toxic 
substances, animals, water activities, and prohibited substances and weapons; 

(g) A plan to ensure that any visitor or other adult not enrolled or conditionally enrolled 
in the CBR does not have unsupervised access to children; 

(h) Emergency preparedness plan (also see Emergency Preparedness, OAR 414-310-0180); 

(i) Schedules that include planned activities, physical activity, and screen time; 

(j) Center-sponsored religious and cultural activities, if any, including how holidays will be 
recognized; 

(k) Meals, snacks, and food service practices including food storage and handling, children’s 
dietary needs and allergies, and food brought from the child’s home; 

(l) Transportation and field trips including driver and vehicle requirements and supervision; 

(m) Behavior and guidance policies; 

(n) How staff must proceed if a child is displaying inappropriate behaviors that could endanger 
themselves or the safety of others; 

(o) Communication methods and notifications, including how parent grievances, questions, or 
concerns are handled by the center; 

(p) Prevention of and duty to report suspected child abuse and neglect; 

(q) How to view inspection reports, access the Department of Early Learning and Care website 
and center certification rules, and contact CCLD and child abuse and neglect hotline. 
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(r) A statement advising parents that they can access information about child care providers 
on the child care safety portal; and 

(s) A plan to ensure safety of children who are using the restroom or completing a task 
separate from the larger group without direct supervision. 

(t) A policy regarding the storage and access of inhalers and epinephrine for children who are 
permitted to carry or self- administer these medications. 

(3) A school-age center must have written personnel policies for staff and volunteers that include at a 
minimum: 

(a) Position descriptions, job duties assigned, and supervision of each position; and 

(b) Initial and ongoing training requirements. 

(4) If a school-age center uses volunteers, the center must provide a copy of volunteer policies to any 
volunteers that includes procedures for ensuring training if the volunteer counts in the staff-to-
child ratio, compliance with certification rules and center procedures, and an understanding of 
emergency preparedness plans. 

(5) As required by state and federal civil rights laws and the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), a 
school-age center cannot discriminate against any child on the basis of race, religion, color, national 
origin, gender, marital status of parent, or because of a need for special care. 

(a) Suspected violations will be reported to the overseeing agency, with whom CCLD may 
share any information available. 

(b) CCLD may deny an initial or renewal application or revoke a regular or temporary 
certification if a school-age center is determined to have discriminated in violation of this 
requirement by any authority with jurisdiction to make the determination. 

(6) A school-age center’s decision on whether to provide or continue to care for a child known to 
have a specific need must be made after an individualized assessment is complete. The 
assessment must be based on information from parents, professionals who are knowledgeable 
about the child’s care needs, and school-age center personnel. The assessment must be 
documented for each child and must include: 

(a) Reasonable accommodations the school-age center made to support the 
individual child’s participation in the program, or an explanation of why the 
school-age center could not make reasonable accommodations; 

(b) Reasonable modifications the school-age center made to their policies and practices to 
fully integrate the child into the program or an explanation of why the school-age 
center could not make reasonable modifications; and (c)If applicable, any direct 
threats to the health and safety of others posed by the child’s presence. 

414-310-0180  Emergency Preparedness and Response  

(1) A school-age center must have a written plan for emergency preparedness that addresses evacuation, 
relocation, shelter-in-place and lockdown procedures, and responding to medical emergencies and 
other incidents that center staff will follow, unless otherwise instructed by emergency personnel. The 
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plan must identify a licensed physician, hospital, or clinic to be used for emergency medical care. 

(2) A school-age center’s written plan must clearly define roles and responsibilities for all staff in an 
emergency and identify the center’s procedures for: 

(a) Responding to a lost or missing child; 

(b) Ensuring that all children in attendance are supervised and accounted for during and after an 
emergency; 

(c) Sounding an alarm and alerting staff of the emergency; 

(d) Responding to health and safety emergencies or suspected abuse of children, staff, 
volunteers, or family members occurring while they are on the premises of the center; 

(e) Notifying emergency authorities, including the poison control center, when necessary; 

(f) Evacuating children to a designated safe area or relocating children to alternate shelter. 
Designated safe areas and alternative shelters must be a minimum of 50 feet from the 
building being evacuated; 

(g) Moving children to a designated location in the center for sheltering-in-place and lockdown 
emergencies; 

(h) Responding to natural and man-made disasters including power outages; 

(i) Responding to serious illness, serious injury or death of a child or staff; 

(j) Responding to incidents involving a hostile intruder; 

(k) Addressing the needs of individual children, including children with disabilities or other 
special needs, and children with chronic medical conditions; 

(l) Ensuring children’s emergency contact information and medical authorization and 
staff emergency contact information is accessible during and after an emergency; 

(m) Notifying parents after the emergency ends and how children will be reunited with their 
families as the evacuation, relocation, or sheltering/lockdown is lifted; 

(n) Maintaining continuity of care after a natural or man-made disaster, including access 
to copies of records, documents, and computer files necessary for continued 
operation stored in either a portable file or at an off-site location; and 

(o) Ensuring pool and swimming safety if applicable (also see OAR 414-310-0680 Swimming). 

(3) A school-age center must observe weather conditions and other possible hazards to take appropriate 
action for child health and safety. Conditions that pose a health or safety risk may include, but are not 
limited to: 

(a) Heat in excess of 100°F or pursuant to advice of the local authority; 

(b) Cold less than 20°F, or pursuant to advice of the local authority; 

(c) Lightning storm, tornado, hurricane, or flooding if there is immediate or likely danger; 

(d) Earthquake; 

(e) Air quality emergency ordered by a local, state, or federal authority on air quality or public 
health; 
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(f) Lockdown notification ordered by a public safety authority; and 

(g) Other similar incidents. 

(4) A school-age center must review the written plan and all emergency procedures at least once per 
licensing year and update the procedures as needed. 

(5) A school-age center must review the written plan with center staff once annually and whenever the plan is 
updated. 

(6) A school-age center must practice evacuation drills monthly and one other aspect of the emergency plan 
every other month that: 

(a) Vary the days and times when drills are conducted; 

(b) Are documented including the type of drill, date, time of day, name of the person 
supervising the drill, number of children and staff in attendance, and length of time 
taken for all individuals to complete the drill; 

(c) Include another method, in addition to working smoke detectors, to alert all staff and 
enrolled children of a fire, emergency situation or drill; and 

(d) Include staff taking emergency contact information, medical authorization, and current 
attendance records with them if leaving the child care area during a drill. 

(7) An emergency evacuation drill must be conducted: 

(a) Within the first 10 days of the school year; or 

(b) Within the first 10 operating days after initial licensure if the program is not operating at 
the beginning of the school year. 

(8) A school-age center must post on each floor and in each classroom in use, a diagram of the building 
showing: 

(a) Room numbers or names of rooms; 

(b) Emergency exits, which must not be through a swimming pool area; 

(c) Room location and exit pathways from the room and building; and 

(d) The predetermined safe location where everyone will gather after evacuation, unless 
emergency personnel provide alternative instructions. 

(9) A school-age center must have an emergency light source, such as a flashlight, in working condition, 
available in: 

(a) Each classroom used by children; 

(b) The center’s kitchen; and 

(c) The center’s office, if applicable. 

(10) A school-age center must have access to an emergency supply kit in a location known to all staff. 
Supplies must include at a minimum: 

(a) First aid supplies, hand sanitizer, wet wipes, and tissue; 

(b) A whistle or air horn; 
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(c) A working flashlight and spare batteries; and 

(d) A battery or solar powered radio. 

414-310-0190  Children’s Records 

(1) A school-age center must obtain the following information for each child, in paper or electronic 

format, prior to the first day of attendance that includes the parent’s signature:   

(a) The child’s name, date of birth, and home address;   

(b) Date the child entered care;  

(c) Name(s), home and business address(es) and telephone number(s) of the custodial parent(s) 

or legal guardian(s);   

(d) Name and contact information of the person to be called in an emergency if the parent(s) 

cannot be reached; 

(e) Name and telephone number of person(s) to whom the child may be released;  

(f) The name and telephone number of the school that a child attends, if the child attends a 

school other than where care is provided;    

(g) Name and telephone number of child's medical provider(s) or emergency care facility, if 

applicable;   

(h) Authorization to obtain emergency medical care and to transport the child for emergency 

medical treatment; 

(i) Developmental and health history of any problems that could affect the child's participation 

in child care; 

(j) A written care plan for any child must be readily accessible to those caring for the children 

with chronic health issues or specific care needs such as allergies, previous serious illnesses 

or injuries, and medications prescribed for continuous, long-term use (also see OAR 414-

310-0580, Care of Children with Specific Needs); and 

(k) Verification that parents have received a copy of the center policies. 

(2) A school-age center must ensure that all children’s records are immediately accessible to caregivers 

during hours of operation for use in an emergency or for children with chronic health issues or 

special care needs.  

(3) A school-age center must permit parents, upon request, to review records and reports, except for 

child abuse reports, on their own children.  

(4) A school-age center must have the parent or guardian review, update, and sign or initial the 

enrollment form at least annually. 
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414-310-0200  Immunizations 

(1) The center must comply with Oregon Health Authority’s administrative rules (see OAR 333-050-

0040) relating to the immunization of children. If a child is enrolled in a public or private elementary 

school, immunizations are not required to be documented by the child care facility.  

(2) A school-age center may provide care for children who are in foster care or experiencing 

homelessness while parents/guardians are taking necessary actions to comply with immunization 

requirements of the center.  

414-310-0210  Parental Permissions  

(1) A school-age center must have the following current permissions from parent(s) when applicable: 

(a) Documentation of permission for a person not listed in the child’s records to pick up the child 
that includes: 

(A) Date and time of the permission; 

(B) Period of time the permission is valid; 

(C) Name of the individual providing permission; 

(D) Name of the individual permitted to pick up the child; and 

(E) Name of the center staff receiving the permission. 

(b) Signed and dated parent permission for each medication, prior to administration, that 
includes: 

(A) The child’s name; 

(B) The name of and reason for the medication; 

(C) The dosage, dates, and times to administer the medication, and how the 
medication will be given; and 

(D) Whether the medication needs to be refrigerated. 

(c) For chronic medical conditions, a school-age center may obtain permission for 12 
months or less with specific instructions including when administration is needed, such 
as inhalers (also see OAR 414-310-0570, Medications). 

(d) Parental permission for participation in any center-sponsored religious or cultural event. 
Parental permission is also required for any special occasions where food is served; 

(e) A school-age center must have signed parent permission prior to transporting a child that 
includes: 

(A) The child’s name; 

(B) The purpose of transportation; 

(C) Whether a center or personal vehicle is used and whether the driver is staff or a 
volunteer; and 
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(D) A specific pick-up and drop-off plan that addresses the location, times, and transfer of 
supervision. 

(f) Parental permission for a child to leave the facility on their own. 

(2) A school-age center must have parent permission prior to a field trip or other activity away 
from the immediate neighborhood. Field trip permission must be specific with dates, times, 
and locations for each field trip. 

(3) A school-age center must inform and obtain written permission from parents for children 
to participate in contracted (e.g., gymnastics, music) or individualized services (e.g., 
therapeutic or medical services) not directly operated by the center. The permission form 
must state that the services are not licensed by CCLD. 

(4) A school-age center must have parental permission prior to a high risk activity, such as 
swimming, on or off the premises, and share the safety plan with parents that includes: 

(a) Minimum ratios for the activity; 

(b) Conditions for the child's participation, such as their age and skill levels; 

(c) Special equipment necessary, such as safety helmets or specific clothing; and 

(d) Safety practices followed. 

(5) A school-age center must obtain parental permission prior to using photographs or recordings of a 
child publicly (e.g. social media, advertisements). 

(6) If a family served by a school-age center is experiencing homelessness, school-age centers must 
make efforts to follow OAR 414-310-0210 (1) through (5). If a school-age center is unable to 
acquire written parental permissions, permissions may be received verbally, when documented by 
the school-age center, or electronically, such as through a text message or e-mail. 

414-310-0220  Arrival and Departure 

(1) A school-age center may only release a child to a parent or another person named and identified by 

the parent(s). A person picking up the child must show identification if not known to staff. 

(2) A school-age center must also be in compliance with 414-310-0260 (Notifications), 414-310-0210 

(Permissions), and 414-310-0170 (Policies). 

(3) If a child has parental permission to arrive or depart on their own (also see Parental Permissions 

414-310-0210), a staff member must sign the child in or out, as appropriate. 

414-310-0230  Staff Records   

A school-age center must maintain current personnel records for each staff, in paper or electronic format, 
which include: 

(1) Name, address and telephone number of staff; 

(2) Job title and duties; 
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(3) Dates of first and last days on the job; 

(4) Emergency contact information; 

(5) Completed employment application or resume; 

(6) Evidence of education and qualifying work experience showing that the person meets the 
qualifications for the position; 

(7) The CBR confirmation letter sent from CCLD to a school-age center. If a school-age center does not 
yet have a CBR confirmation letter for staff, a school-age center must have written 
documentation that the school-age center has verified with CCLD that the staff is enrolled in the 
CBR and linked to the center. Documentation must include the date, time, and name of the CCLD 
staff member the school-age center spoke with; 

(8) Current first aid and CPR training certificate; 

(9) Current food handler certification, if applicable; 

(10) Driving record, driver's license number and expiration date if the person is to transport children; 

(11) Evidence of participation in an orientation; and 

(12) A statement signed and dated by the employee showing they have access to the center’s policies 
and the rules for the Certification of School-Age Child Care Centers. 

414-310-0240  Program Records 

(1) A school-age center must maintain records that demonstrate compliance with all rules for 2 
years following the record’s creation, such as parent permissions, attendance records, emergency 
preparedness drills, and pet vaccinations. A school-age center must maintain staff and children's 
records for two years after termination of employment or care. 

(a) A school-age center may store records off-site that are older than one year but they must 
be made available within 48 hours, upon request. A school-age center must make all other 
records available to CCLD at all times. 

(b) A school-age center must have at least one staff member on-site who can access any records 
that are stored in paper or electronic formats. 

(c) If a school-age center has multiple sites, the center may keep the official personnel file for 
staff off-site. However, each location must have a paper or electronic file on-site that 
includes the following information: 

(A) Staff qualifications for the position they hold; 

(B) Verification that the staff is currently enrolled in the CBR; and 

(C) Documentation that the staff has completed an orientation, first aid and 
CPR training, and food handler certifications, as appropriate. 

(d) Electronic records must be portable for use during an emergency evacuation. 

(e) If using electronic records, the center must have procedures in place to ensure prompt 
access, including an on-or off- site electronic back-up method to ensure access in the event 
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of data loss. 

(f) A school-age center must keep child and personnel records confidential and only available to 
personnel as necessary, the individual child's parents, and CCLD staff. 

(2) A school-age center must maintain the current day’s attendance record in paper or electronic 
format with each group of children. All caregivers must have access to the attendance records to 
determine which children are in care during their work shift, changes in caregivers, and 
emergency evacuations. A school-age center’s daily attendance records must include: 

(a) The child’s full name; and 

(b) Times recorded as children arrive and depart so that the record shows the children in 
attendance at any given time. 

(3) If a group of children separates from the larger group to move to another activity, such as going 
outside, the responsible staff member must have a method to account for the children in the 
separate group, such as a written list of the children’s names. 

(4) A school-age center must maintain staff attendance records to include: 

(a) The staff’s full name; 

(b) Times of arrival and departure; and 

(c) Group or room assignment. 

(5) A school-age center must have a visitor log to document all adults, excluding persons authorized to 
drop off and pick up a child, that includes name, relationship to center (e.g., volunteer, vendor, guest, 
etc.), and recorded time in and out of the center. 

(6) A school-age center must immediately document the administration of any medication that includes: 

(a) The child’s name; 

(b) Medication administered; 

(c) The date and time when medication was administered; 

(d) The dosage or amount of medication administered; 

(e) Any side effects exhibited by the child; and 

(f) The signature of the person who administered the medication (also see OAR 414-310-0570, 
Medications). 

(7) A school-age center must maintain a written record of suspected child abuse and neglect 
reports made to the Department of Human Services Child Welfare or law enforcement. 

(8) A school-age center must maintain records regarding emergency preparedness and fire prevention 
such as dates of drills for at least two years (also see OAR 414-310-0180, Emergency Preparedness 
and 414-310-0500, Fire Protection). 

(9) A school-age center must have parents or guardians of each child enrolled in the center sign a 
declaration form approved by CCLD verifying they have reviewed a copy of the current license 
certificate. The declaration shall be updated any time an exception or condition is added to or 
removed from the license. 
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414-310-0250 Items Available to View 

(1) A school-age center must have the following items available in a prominent and frequently 
visited location for the parents and public to view: 

(a) The most current certificate issued by CCLD; 

(b) All serious valid complaints and serious noncompliance letters for 12 calendar months from the 
date of the letter; 

(c) A notice of any current or pending legal sanctions posted immediately and while in effect, 
including throughout any appeal period; 

(d) A notice that the most recent CCLD inspection and rules for Certification of School-Age 
Child Care Centers are available upon request; 

(e) The Department of Early Learning and Care [www.oregon.gov/DELC] and phone number 
[18005566616], and a statement advising parents that they can access information about 
their child care provider on the child care safety portal; 

(f) The most recent water test results summary provided by CCLD (also see OAR 414-310-
0460 Water Supply and Plumbing); 

(g) Information on how to report a complaint to CCLD regarding certification requirements; 

(h) The Oregon Child Abuse and Neglect Hotline number and requirement to report suspected 
abuse or neglect; 

(i) The Program Coordinator’s full name and at least one program leader who is responsible 
for the center if the Program Coordinator is not present at the center. When the 
individuals listed are not present, the appointed personnel in charge is identified in 
writing; 

(j) A notice that custodial parents have access to all child care areas upon notifying any staff 
member of their presence during the hours of operation and without advance notice; 

(k) Center closures (vacation days, holidays, etc.); 

(l) The dated current week’s menu of all snacks and meals served by the center with any 
substitutions recorded; 

(m) A floor plan with primary and secondary evacuation routes from each area of the building 
posted on each floor; 

(n) A notice of planned field trips showing the date, times, and place of each excursion and 
posted at least 48 hours in advance of the trip; 

(o) When on a neighborhood walk and all staff and children have left the premises, a 
notice with staff contact information and approximate return time; 

(p) A notice when any child or staff member has a child care restrictable disease, as defined in 
Oregon Health Authority rule, or food poisoning (also see OAR 414-310-0550, Illness); and 

(q) The center’s behavior and guidance policy. 

(2) A school-age center must post the following items in classrooms where they are easily visible to 
personnel and parents unless the rule specifically states otherwise: 

http://www.oregon.gov/DELC
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(a) Emergency numbers to include 9-1-1, where available, or local law enforcement, local 
mental health crisis line, fire department, and ambulance service; the center name and 
address, with main cross streets or directions to the center; child abuse reporting hotline 
and poison control (1-800-222-1222); 

(b) Emergency evacuation procedures and an emergency evacuation and relocation diagram, 
including fire and weather- related evacuation routes, near the entrance or exit of the 
room; 

(c) Classroom schedule; 

(d) The menu and children’s dietary restrictions, known allergies, and nutrition requirements in a 
location easily accessible for staff but not available to those who are not parents or guardians of 
the enrolled child. Rather than posting in a classroom, a school-age center may post this 
information in areas where food is served; and 

(e) The applicable ratios and group sizes. 

414-310-0260  Notifications 

(1) A school-age center must notify CCLD by 5:00pm the next business day of the following items: 

(a) A change of Program Coordinator; 

(b) A change in mailing address, when different from the physical address; 

(c) A change in phone number; 

(d) A known legal action or child abuse or neglect investigation, such as an arrest, criminal 
investigation or charge, or Victim Protection Order, involving any person for which a school-age 
center is required to request a background check; 

(e) An unscheduled temporary or permanent center closure or relocation; 

(f) Any occurrence, including a natural disaster, that renders all or part of the school-age center 
unsafe or unsanitary for a child including disruption of utilities or contaminated water; 

(g) An incident that exposes children to an imminent risk of harm, such as a child leaving the center 
without the center’s knowledge or being left alone on- or off-site or in a vehicle; 

(h) An animal bite to an individual that occurs on-site at any time or off-site when participating in 
center activities; 

(i) An accident involving transportation, unless there were no injuries and only minor damage to 
the vehicles; 

(j) Any serious injury or incident involving a child; 

(k) A child who is given the incorrect dosage of any medication; 

(l) A child who took or received another person’s medication; 

(m) The death of a child or staff member that occurred on the premises of the center; 

(n) Other dangers or incidents requiring emergency response such as a fire or temporarily 
relocating children. 
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(o) Any time prohibited discipline or prohibited actions occur (also see 414-310-0420, Prohibited 
Discipline and Actions); and 

(p) Any incident where physical restraint is used (also see 414-310-0430, Physical Restraint). 

(2) A school-age center must notify CCLD prior to the following: 

(a) An anticipated temporary or permanent center closing, other than a scheduled closing 
identified in center policy; 

(b) An anticipated temporary or permanent change in location; 

(c) An anticipated center change or alteration that impacts the amount of usable square footage 
or compliance with the requirements; and 

(d) A change in center name; 

(3) Any staff member who has reason to believe a child has been abused or neglected is required to report 
the matter immediately to the Oregon Child Abuse Hotline 1-855-503-7233), Department of Human 
Services Child Welfare, or a law enforcement agency. This requirement applies 24 hours a day. This 
requirement applies to any suspected physical, sexual or emotional abuse; child neglect, child 
endangerment, or child exploitation; inappropriate sexual contact between two or more children; 
or attempted suicide or threats of suicide by a child. 

(4) A school-age center must immediately notify the Oregon Health Authority of a known case, in 
individuals associated with the center, of a child carerestrictable disease, as defined in Oregon Health 
Authority administrative rules, OAR 3330190010. 

(5) A school-age center must immediately notify parents or an emergency contact if the parent cannot be 
reached and document if their child: 

(a) Does not arrive on their own at the center as scheduled, such as when walking to the 
center, or when a child is transported from another program; 

(b) Is not present at the pick-up location as scheduled; 

(c)  Is involved in an incident that placed the child at risk such as being lost, missing or left alone on 
a playground, a field trip, or in a vehicle; 

(d) Has experienced any suspected allergic reactions, as well as the ingestion of or contact with 
the allergen even if a reaction did not occur; 

(e) Was not administered medication in accordance with directions; 

(f) Received emergency medication for a life-threatening condition such as epinephrine; 

(g) Sustains an injury that may need evaluation by a physician or any impact to a child’s head; 

(h) Has been exposed to poison; 

(i) Is bitten by an animal, when the skin is broken or when an evaluation by a physician may be 
needed; 

(j) Is separated from the group due to an illness; 

(k) Dies while in care; or 

(l) Is involved in any incident where physical restraint is used. 
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(6) By the end of the business day, a school-age center must notify parents of: 

(a) Significant changes in their child's physical or emotional state; 

(b) Known minor injuries such as minor cuts, scratches, and bites from other children requiring 
first aid treatment by employees; 

(c) Their child being unsupervised at school or another location when not picked up on time; 

(d) Illness or infestation symptoms that developed or changed; 

(e) A child care restrictable disease or infestation exposure from staff or another child; 

(f) Administration of a medication for a non-life-threatening condition that is only administered as 
needed; 

(g) An animal bite to a child, when the skin is not broken; 

(h) Implemented emergency plans and procedures, except for drills; and 

(i) Anticipated closure of the center. 

414-310-0270  General Staffing Requirements 

(1) A school-age center must ensure that all staff, including persons not counted in the staff-to-
child ratio and volunteers: 

(a) Know and comply with certification rules; 

(b) Recognize and act to correct hazards to physical safety, both indoors and outdoors; 

(c) Demonstrate good judgment as evidenced by responsible behavior that reasonably ensures 
the health and safety of children; 

(d) Have not consumed nor are under the influence of any substance that impairs their ability 
to care for children. “Under the influence" means observed abnormal behavior or 
impairments in mental or physical performance leading a reasonable person to believe the 
individual has used alcohol, any controlled substances (including lawfully prescribed and over-
the-counter medications), marijuana or inhalants that impairs their performance of essential 
job function or creates a direct threat to child care children or others; 

(e) Relate to children with courtesy, respect, acceptance, and patience; 

(f) Demonstrate realistic expectations for behavior based on the age, abilities, and needs of 
children; 

(g) Recognize and respect the uniqueness and potential of all children, their families, and their 
cultures; 

(h) Report suspected abuse, neglect, and exploitation in accordance with Oregon law (also see 414-
310-0260, Notifications); and 

(i) Have the required training and experience for the position they are filling. 

(2) A school-age center must ensure that employees counted in the staff-to-child ratios: 

(a) Individualize the care and learning opportunities to meet each child's needs based upon the 
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child's age and abilities, including reviewing the information provided by parents while 
respecting confidentiality; 

(b) Have a method to identify each child for whom they are responsible; and 

(c) Are physically capable of performing duties related to child care. 

(3) A school-age center must ensure that at least one person who has current certification in first aid 
and Pediatric Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) is present in the center at all times, during 
transportation, and on field trips. 

(4) A school-age center must ensure that any person who has demonstrated behavior that could 
endanger the health, safety or wellbeing of a child is not on the premises during child care hours or 
has access to children in care. 

(5) Any staff with evidence of a child care restrictable disease, as defined in OAR 3330190010, a symptom 
of physical illness, as described in OAR 414-310-0550(2)(b)(A) through (K), or mental incapacity that 
poses a threat to the health or safety of children shall be relieved of their duties. 

414-310-0280  Central Background Registry Enrollment 

(1) The operator, all child care staff and any person 18 years of age or older, who may have 

unsupervised access to children shall be enrolled in CCLD’s Central Background Registry prior to the 

issuance of an initial or renewal certification. An individual who is the owner or the principal of an 

entity that is the owner of a school-age center must be enrolled in the CBR to be on the center 

premises or present with children off-site during child care hours. 

(2) A school-age center must have written confirmation from CCLD that staff 18 years of age or older 

are enrolled or conditionally enrolled in the CBR before the staff may be on the child care premises 

or present with children off-site during child care hours. 

(3) All caregivers and other individuals that are required to be enrolled in the CBR and are on-site must 

maintain current enrollment in the CBR at all times while the center license is active. 

(4) Staff conditionally enrolled in the CBR may function in their staff position but shall not have 

unsupervised access to children until the center has confirmed with CCLD the individual is enrolled. 

(5) Any visitor to the school-age center or other adult who is not enrolled in the CBR shall not have 

unsupervised access to children. 

(6) A school-age center must have safeguards in place to prevent a visitor’s unsupervised access to 

children, including a sign-in and sign-out process that captures: 

(a) The individual’s name and relationship to the center (e.g. volunteer, vendor, guest, etc.); 

(b) Arrival and departure times; and 

(c) Name of qualified staff responsible for monitoring the persons’ presence and accompanying 

the individual while on the premises. 

(7) A school-age center must ensure that individuals whose CBR enrollment has been revoked, denied, 

or suspended are not on the premises during child care hours or have contact with children in care. 
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(8) If additional information is needed to assess a person's ability to care for children or to have access 

to children, CCLD may require references, an evaluation by a physician, counselor, or other qualified 

person, or other information. 

414-310-0290  Program Coordinator 

(1) A school-age center must employ staff who meet(s) the qualifications of Program Coordinator as 

outlined in (2) below. The Program Coordinator is responsible for:  

(a) Maintaining compliance with all school-age center rules and all conditions placed on the 

license;  

(b) Developing and implementing the center’s operational and personnel policies;  

(c) Supervising the personnel, volunteers, and other individuals providing services in the center; 

(d) Overseeing the training and professional development of staff including setting educational 

goals, observation and mentoring;  

(e) Implementing program development;  

(f) Overseeing parent communication and sharing community resources with families including 

resources for children with special needs; and 

(g) Managing administrative functions, including, but not limited to: maintaining records; 

financial management; budgeting; maintenance of buildings and grounds; meal planning 

and preparation; and transportation, if provided. 

(h) Designating one Program Leader at each site who is responsible for maintaining compliance 

with CCLD rules. There must be one designated Program Leader on site at all times.  

(i) To allow for adequate oversight of the center, the center’s Program Coordinator:   

(A) Must be at each site at least two times a month, and for a minimum of one hour 

each visit while children are in care, if the most experienced program leader at 

the site has been in their positions for less than six months. If the most 

experienced program leader at the site has been in their position for more than 

six months, the Program Coordinator must be on site one time a month for a 

minimum of one hour. 

(B) May serve as a Program Leader, if qualified and if the center is certified for less 

than 45 children; and 

(C) Must be available by phone at all times during child care hours. 

(2) A school-age center Program Coordinator must: 

(a) Be at least 21 years of age;  

(b) Meet the initial and annual training requirements (also see 414-310-0340, Annual Training 

and 414-310-0330, Orientation and Initial Training);  
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(c) Have at least one year of experience supervising adults; and 

(d) Have verifiable knowledge of child development for school age children, as evidenced by a 

combination of professional references, education, experience or training; or completion of 

the training listed in Table 1 within 90 days of hire: 

Table 1 

Completion of 20 clock hours of training, completed within the last five years, 
focused on school-age child care that meets the following core knowledge 
criteria:   

● Five clock hours in understanding and guiding behavior (UGB). 
● Five clock hours in learning environments and curriculum (LEC). 
● Five clock hours in human growth and development (HGD) 
● Five clock hours in program management (PM). 

414-310-0300  Program Leaders 

(1) A school-age center’s Program Leader is responsible for: 

(a) The supervision of their assigned group of children at all times; 

(b) The supervision of any assistant program leaders or volunteers assigned to their group; and 

(c) Maintaining compliance with all school-age center rules and all conditions placed on the license 
when the Program Coordinator is not present. 

(2) A Program Leader must: 

(a) Be at least 18 years of age; 

(b) Meet the initial and annual training requirements (also see OAR 414-310-0340, Annual 
Training and OAR 414-310- 0330, Orientation and Initial Training); and 

(c) Meet the experience and training qualification requirements for the assigned age group 
for the group of children in the Program Leader’s care in one of the options listed in Table 
2 of this section. 

(3) A school-age center’s substitute Program Leader must meet Program Leader qualifications, 
understand the Program Leader responsibilities, be familiar with the certification requirements, 
have access to all records, and be authorized and able to correct deficiencies. 
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Table 2 

Qualifications for Program Leaders 

Option #1: 60 hours of experience working in the program AND  
Completion of 20 clock hours of training, completed within the last five years, 
focused on school-age child care that meets the following core knowledge 
criteria:   

● Five clock hours in understanding and guiding behavior (UGB). 
● Five clock hours in learning environments and curriculum (LEC). 
● Five clock hours in human growth and development (HGD) 
● Five clock hours in program management (PM). 

Option #2: At least 240 hours of qualifying experience working with school-age 
children in the last five years in a Certified Child Care Center or comparable group 
care program  

Option #3: At least an AA Degree in: 
● Early childhood education 
● Child development  
● Elementary education 
● Special education 
● Physical education 
● Recreation 
● Human development 
● Child and family studies 
● Home economics 

Option #4: At least a Step 6 in the Oregon Registry 

414-310-0310  Assistant Program Leaders 

(1) A school-age center’s  Assistant Program Leaders support Program Leaders in caring for a group of 

children under the direct supervision of the Program Leader. 

(2) An Assistant Program Leader must: 

(a) Be at least 14 years old; 

(b) Be within sight AND sound of a staff person who meets the qualifications of a Program 

Leader if under the age of 18 years; 

(c) Be within sight OR sound of a staff member who meets the qualifications of a Program 

Leader if 18 years of age or older; and 

(d) Meet the initial training requirements (also see 414-310-0330, Orientation and Initial 

Training). 
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414-310-0320  Other Staff and Volunteers 

(1) A school-age center must verify that all substitutes, prior to being left alone (if qualified to be 
unsupervised) with children: 

(a) Are enrolled in the CBR as required under OAR 414-310-0280,Central Background Registry 
Enrollment; 

(b) Complete the CCLD Introduction to Child Care Health and Safety training as required under 
Training; and 

(c) Have completed a minimum of 2 hours of training on recognizing and reporting child abuse and 
neglect that is specific to Oregon law within 30 days of employment. 

(2) A school-age center must ensure that substitutes counted in the staff-to-child ratio meet 
qualifications for the position they hold. 

(3) If a school-age center uses a volunteer to meet staff-to-child ratios, the center must document 
how the volunteer meets the qualifications of the position they are filling including CBR 
enrollment. 

(4) A school-age center must ensure that all center staff and volunteers are aware of the policy that 
volunteers who do not meet staff requirements must be at least 13 years of age and not have 
unsupervised access to children. 

(5) Volunteers under the age of 14 must have written permission from their parent or guardian. 

(6) Unless participating in a structured volunteer program, volunteers under the age of 14 may be on the 
premises of the school-age center for no more than 4 hours per day. 

(7) A school-age center must identify the duties for each volunteer and share them with the 
volunteer and program leader in writing prior to the volunteer beginning work at the center. 

414-310-0330  Orientation and Initial Training  

(1) A school-age center must ensure that all staff, including substitutes, receive an orientation within the 
first 10 days of hire and before staff have unsupervised access to children. An orientation must 
include, but is not limited to: 

(a) A review of the rules for certified school-age centers; 

(b) The written plan for emergency preparedness that addresses evacuation, relocation, shelter-
in-place and lockdown procedures and responding to medical emergencies, illness and 
injuries, allergic reactions, and other incidents; 

(c) The prevention and control of infectious diseases; 

(d) Building and premises safety including identification and protection from hazards such as 
electrical hazards, bodies of water, and vehicular traffic; 

(e) The handling and storage of hazardous materials and the appropriate disposal of 
biocontaminants; 

(f) Methods used to inform personnel of children's specific health, nutritional, and developmental 
needs; 
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(g) The administration of medication; 

(h) The center policies, as required under OAR 414-310-0170, Policies; and 

(i) Procedures for reporting suspected child abuse or neglect. 

(2) A school-age center must ensure staff, including substitutes, complete the following within 30 days of 
hire and prior to having unsupervised access to children: 

(a) CCLD Introduction to Child Care Health and Safety; and 

(b) A minimum of 2 hours of CCLD approved training on recognizing and reporting child 
abuse and neglect that is specific to Oregon law. 

(3) A school-age center must ensure that staff and substitutes complete the following within 90 days of hire: 

(a) Current certification in first aid and pediatric CPR. Online CPR training is only acceptable 
if it includes hands-on instruction. First aid and pediatric CPR must be kept current 
during employment at the center; and; 

(b) The CCLD approved Child Development Training. 

(4) A school-age center must ensure the following staff, including substitutes, obtain an Oregon 
food handler's certifications within 30 days of hire: 

(a) Cooks and kitchen staff who handle food;and 

(b) Staff who serve meals from a communal source or put away leftovers. 

(5) A school-age center program coordinator must provide verification to Oregon Registry Online (ORO) 
that they have obtained 10 hours of training in the core knowledge category of Program 
Management; or they must obtain 10 hours within the first year of hire. 

414-310-0340  Annual Training 

(1) A school-age center must ensure the following training requirements are met for each staff: 

(a) Each school-age center program coordinator or program leader must have at least 15 clock 
hours of formal training or education annually related to child care, of which at least 8 clock 
hours is in child development and one hour is in health, safety, and nutrition (HSN). 

(b) Substitute program leaders who provide care for 60 hours or more per licensing year at one or 
more site operated by the school-age center must complete at least 15 clock hours of annual 
training or education related to child care, of which at least 8 clock hours is in child development 
and 1 hour is in health, safety, and nutrition (HSN). 

(c) School-age center staff employed less than a year must complete training requirements prorated 
at 1.25 clock hours for each month worked in the current license period. If the 15 hours of training 
are pro-rated, the requirement to have 8 hours of training in child development does not apply. 

(2) Any staff member who works in multiple locations must designate one center for tracking the 
staff member’s training requirements. 
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414-310-0350  Training Criteria 

(1) All staff employed by a school-age center must have an active account with ORO. Staff training must 

meet the following requirements: 

(a) Be approved by ORO; and  

(b) Be at least one hour in duration. 

(2) Staff training that is a component of a staff meeting may be counted toward the required training 

hours. 

(3) The following core knowledge categories are accepted for the child development and early 

childhood education requirement: Diversity, Family and Community Systems, Human Growth and 

Development, Health Safety and Nutrition, Learning Environments and Curriculum, Observation and 

Assessment, Special Needs, and Understanding and Guiding Behavior. 

(4) A school-age center may count the following initial required staff training toward the 15 clock hours 

of annual training during the first year of employment.  These hours, with the exception of (g) 

cannot be applied toward the requirement of 8 hours in child development or early childhood 

education: 

(a) Up to 2 hours of orientation at the first renewal period after the staff person’s hire date; 

(b) First aid and pediatric CPR training; 

(c) Food handler’s training;  

(d) CCLD approved training on recognizing and reporting child abuse and neglect; 

(e) CCLD Introduction to Child Care Health and Safety training;  

(f) One hour of training in the category of Health, Safety and Nutrition; and 

(g) CCLD approved child development training 

(5) During subsequent years of employment, a school-age center may count the following repeated 

training as part of the 15 clock hours of training: 

(a) 5 hours of first aid and pediatric CPR training;  

(b) Food handler's training;  

(c) Recognizing and reporting child abuse and neglect but only repeated every 3 years; and  

(d) A Set 2 (intermediate) or Set 3 (advanced) training as described by the ORO can be repeated 

once, provided it was not taken within the previous 2 years. 

414-310-0360  Staff-to-Child Ratios and Group Size 

(1) “Ratios” mean the number of staff required to be physically present with a child or group of children. 

(2) “Group size” is the number of children assigned to staff occupying an individual classroom or 
well-defined space within a larger room. 
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(3) The number of Program Leaders and Assistant Program Leaders and group size is determined by the 
number of the children in attendance. 

(a) The staff-to-child ratio is one staff for every 15 children. 

(b) The maximum group size is 30 children. 

(4) A school-age center must not exceed the maximum group size except during field trips, outdoor 
play, planned large group activities, eating or if the school-age program is located in a large space 
(also see OAR 414-310-0360(5)). 

(5) If a school-age center’s program is located in a large space (e.g., cafeteria, multi-purpose room), 
groups can be combined if ratios are maintained, staff are well positioned throughout the 
room, and interest areas are set up. 

(6) A school-age center must have at least one caregiver who meets the qualifications of a program 
leader as defined under Program Leader (see OAR 414-310-0300) with each group of children. 

(7) A school-age center must count all children in ratios, group size and capacity with the following 
exceptions: 

(a) Children visiting with a non-staff parent or a staff parent not being counted to meet staff-
to-child ratios as long as the parent is directly supervising their child; and 

(b) Minors who qualify as volunteers. 

(8) A school-age center may count staff in ratios under the following situations: 

(a) While staff are performing minimal cleaning and food service duties, provided supervision is 
maintained; and 

(b) When staff are assisting a child in a restroom that opens directly into the classroom provided 
children can be seen or heard and supervision is maintained. 

(c) When any children are participating in a contracted service in the center, the room is 
arranged so all children are supervised and the situation permits, there may be one assistant 
program leader with CBR enrollment, supervising the group along with the contracted 
services instructor. As children finish the activity offered by the contracted service, 
additional caregivers shall be added to return to required ratios. Sufficient caregivers to 
meet the required ratio shall be in the facility and able to be summoned by the caregiver 
without leaving the room. 

414-310-0370  Supervision of Children 

(1) A school-age center must ensure that children have the full attention of the required number of staff at 
all times who must: 

(a) Be aware of what each child is doing; 

(b) Know and take into account the age of each child, the child’s individual behaviors, interests, 
and abilities, the layout of indoor and outdoor space, and any potential hazards or risks 
from activities children are engaged in; 

(c) Be near enough to children to assist and respond when needed; 
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(d) Be within sight or sound, without relying on audio or video monitoring devices; 

(e) Not participate in personal activities that could interfere with supervision, such as visitors, 
phone calls, or electronic device use; and 

(f) Provide supervision when contracted non-staff persons are with children (also see OAR 414-
310-0360 Staff-to-Child Ratios). 

(2) With staff knowledge or permission, one child at a time may be out of sight and sound supervision, 
while on the premises of the child care program, when using the restroom or completing a task 
separate from the larger group for a maximum of 5 minutes. 

414-310-0380  Creating a Climate for Healthy Child Development 

(1) When communicating or interacting with children, a school-age center must ensure staff 
maintain a climate for healthy, culturally responsive child development such as: 

(a) Using a calm and encouraging tone of voice; 

(b) Using positive language to explain what children can do and give descriptive feedback; 

(c) Having relaxed conversations with children by listening and responding to what they say. 
Adult conversations must not dominate the overall sound of the group; 

(d) Greeting children upon arrival and acknowledging their departure; 

(e) Using facial expressions such as smiling, laughing, and enthusiasm to match a child’s mood; 

(f) Using physical proximity in a culturally responsive way to speak to children at their eye level; 

(g) Validating children’s feelings and showing tolerance for mistakes; 

(h) Being responsive, listening to children’s requests and questions, and encouraging children 
to share experiences, ideas, and feelings; 

(i) Observing children in order to learn about their families, cultures, individual interests, ideas, 
questions, and theories; 

(j) Modeling and teaching emotional skills such as recognizing feelings, expressing them 
appropriately, accepting others' feelings, and controlling impulses to act out feelings; 

(k) Being respectful of cultural traditions, values, religion and beliefs of enrolled families; and 

(l) Interacting with staff and other adults in a positive, respectful manner. 

(2) A school-age center must ensure staff encourage positive interactions between and among children 
with techniques such as: 

(a) Giving children several chances a day to interact with each other while playing or completing 
routine tasks; 

(b) Modeling social skills; 

(c) Encouraging socially isolated children to find friends; 

(d) Helping children understand feelings of others; and 

(e) Encouraging interactions between children of all abilities. 
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414-310-0390  Program Schedule 

(1) A school-age center must develop, post, and follow a written schedule for each group of children, 

according to their ages, interests, and abilities.  

(a) The written schedule should provide a consistent routine while allowing for flexibility to 

respond to the needs of the individual children and group of children. 

(b) The schedule must: 

(A) Cover all hours of operation; 

(B) Provide a balance of active and quiet opportunities; and 

(C) Include activities such as small and large group activities, free play, daily outdoor 

experiences and snacks and meals. 

(c) Any time a school-age center operates more than five continuous hours a day, the center 

must offer a total of ninety minutes of active play, which may be broken up into smaller 

blocks of time. 

(2) A school-age center must ensure daily outdoor play for each child regardless of age, provided 

weather and environmental conditions do not pose a significant health or safety risk.  

414-310-0400  Activity Plan  

(1) A school-age center must provide an environment for children where adults' actions demonstrate 
respect for their changing physical, emotional and intellectual needs. 

(2) A school-age center must make the emotional and physical needs of children the first priority of the 
center, ensuring that children get adequate care and prompt attention. 

(3) When a school-age center operates for more than five continuous hours per day, the center must 
develop, post and follow written weekly activity plans that: 

(a) Indicate indoor and outdoor plans for each day; 

(b) Are designed to meet the children's developmental abilities, interests, cultural and individual 
needs; and 

(c) Are inclusive for all children in the group regardless of disabling or limiting conditions. 

(4) A school-age center must ensure the activity plan and available materials allow for a range of learning 
experiences to support each child’s development of: 

(a) Self-esteem, self-awareness, self-control, cooperation, problem-solving, and decision-making 
abilities; 

(b) Social, emotional, cognitive, language, literacy, and physical growth; and 

(c) Creativity, experimentation, and exploration. 

(5) A school-age center must provide children with opportunities to choose from a variety of age 
appropriate activities and experiences which include: 
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(a) Reading books; 

(b) Creative expression through music and the arts; 

(c) Gross motor development; 

(d) Individual projects, which may include homework; 

(e) Exposure to individual and team physical activities; and 

(f) Daily opportunities to rest if tired. The center must provide a space that encourages rest for 
those children who wish to rest. 

(6) A school-age center must not provide or allow a child to have more than 2.5 hours of screen time per 
week. 

(a) When the internet is accessible for children's use, the center must ensure that 
children do not have access to inappropriate websites, email, instant messaging, and 
similar technology. 

(b) Screen time is defined as time spent using electronic devices, including, but not limited to 
computers, television, tablets, phones and game consoles but does not include assistive or 
adaptive technology for children with disabilities. 

(c) Usage times may be extended for physical activity guidance, special events, projects 
(i.e. coding lessons) and homework. 

(d) All media exposure must be developmentally and age appropriate, non-violent, and culturally 
sensitive. 

(e) When screen time is a group activity, at least one alternative activity must be available for 
children who do not want to participate. 

(7) A school-age center must take precautions to protect children from excessive sun exposure, 
including but not limited to: 

(a) Applying sunscreen to children. School-age centers must comply with requirements 
regarding sunscreen in OAR 414-310-0570(7), including parent permission; 

(b) Ensuring access to shaded areas or having children wear protective clothing and hats; and 
limiting direct sun exposure when children do not have sunscreen applied. 

414-310-0410 Behavior and Guidance  

(1) A school-age center must have a written policy on behavior and guidance of children 
that is simple and understandable to the child, the parent(s), and all staff (also see OAR 
414-310-0170, Policies). 

(2) A school-age center must have the behavior and guidance policy available in a prominent and 
frequently visited location for the parents and public to view. 

(3) A school-age center’s behavior and guidance policy must include the use of positive guidance 
to help children develop self-control, self-direction, and respect for others through these 
approaches: 
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(a) Setting and teaching simple, consistent, clear and positive rules and limits that children 
can understand; 

(b) Setting up the environment for success with engaging activities that encourage positive 
behavior and self-regulation; 

(c) Following a predictable daily routine and schedule with planned transitions; 

(d) Reinforcing positive behaviors with encouragement and descriptive praise; 

(e) Supervising actively, taking steps to prevent problems before they occur and 
explaining safe, natural and logical consequences related to a child’s behavior; 

(f) Helping children recognize and appropriately express their feelings and understand the 
feelings of others; 

(g) Modeling and teaching social skills such as taking turns, cooperation, waiting, 
treating others kindly, and problem solving; and 

(h) Redirecting or helping a child change their focus to something appropriate when their 
behavior is unacceptable. 

(4) A school-age center must ensure that only staff shall provide guidance to a child. 

(5) A school-age center must provide guidance that is fair, consistently applied, timely, and 
appropriate to the behavior, age, and development of the child. 

(6) When other methods have not been effective, a school-age center may remove the child from an 
activity or group for the time necessary to regain self-control. Staff must be actively responsive to 
the child’s needs. When the child has regained self-control, the child may rejoin a group or ongoing 
activity. 

(7) A school-age center must have a policy that addresses how staff must proceed if a child is 
displaying inappropriate behaviors that could endanger themselves or the safety of others (see 
Policies, OAR 414-310-0170). 

(8) A school-age center must intervene appropriately to stop biased behavior displayed by children or 
adults, including but not limited to: 

(a) Redirecting an inappropriate conversation or behavior; 

(b) Being aware of situations that may involve bias, responding appropriately, 
taking actions to prevent future occurrences; and 

(c) Refusing to ignore bias. 

414-310-0420  Prohibited Discipline and Actions 

A school-age center must not use or threaten to use any of the following prohibited actions even if 
requested or agreed to by parents:  

(1) Rough or harsh handling of children or use of corporal punishment in any form, including, but not 
limited to hitting, spanking, slapping, shaking, swatting, throwing, jerking, pinching, biting, or other 
measures that produce physical pain; 

(2) Bind or restrict a child's movement unless permitted under OAR 414-310-0430; 
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(3) Using unauthorized prescription or non-prescription drugs or chemicals for discipline or to control 
behavior; 

(4) Confining or isolating a child in an enclosed or darkened area (e.g., a locked or closed room, 
bathroom, closet, or box for punishment);  

(5) Withdrawing, denying or forcing food, rest or toileting; 

(6) Forcing or compelling a child to eat or placing soap, food, spices, or foreign substances in the child’s 
mouth;  

(7) Exposing a child to extremes of temperature; 

(8) Yelling harshly or using profane or abusive language; 

(9) Punishing or demeaning a child for toileting accidents or refusing to eat food; 

(10) Allowing any form of mental or emotional punishment or verbal abuse, including but not limited to 
public or private humiliation, name calling, teasing, ridicule, intimidation, making derogatory or 
sarcastic remarks about a child's family, race, gender, religion, or cultural background, rejecting, 
frightening, neglecting, or corrupting a child;  

(11) Demanding excessive physical exercise, excessive rest, or strenuous postures; or 

(12) Requiring a child to remain silent or inactive or removing a child from all activities or the group for 
excessive periods of time. 

414-310-0430  Physical Restraint 

(1) A school-age center may only use physical restraint after complying with all requirements of OAR 
414-310-0410, Behavior and Guidance and OAR 414-310-0420, Prohibited Discipline and in 
accordance with OAR 414-310- 0170(2)(n). 

(2) Physical restraint must only be used if a child's safety or the safety of others is threatened and must be: 

(a) Limited to holding a child as gently as possible to accomplish restraint; 

(b) Limited to the minimum amount of time necessary to control the situation; and 

(c) Developmentally appropriate. 

(3) A staff member must not use bonds, ties, blankets, straps, or heavy weights (including an adult sitting 
on a child) to physically restrain children. 

(4) School-age center staff must discontinue the use of physical restraint if they sense a loss of their own 
self-control or concern for the child when using physical restraint. 

(5) If physical restraint is used, a school-age center must: 

(a) Report the use of physical restraint, pursuant to OAR 414-310-0260, Notifications; 

(b) Assess any incident of physical restraint to determine if the decision to use physical restraint and 
its application were appropriate; and 

(c) Document the incident in the child's file, including the date, time, school-age center staff 
involved, duration, and what happened before, during, and after the child was restrained. 
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(6) If physical restraint is used more than once on a specific child, the center must develop a written plan 
with input from individuals who have knowledge of the child’s behaviors, including, but not limited to: 
the child's primary care provider, mental health provider, school counselor, and the parents or 
guardians, to address underlying issues and reduce the need for further physical restraint. A center 
must notify CCLD when a written plan has been developed. 

414-310-0440  Center Capacity 

(1) A school-age center’s licensed capacity is based on a combination of the center’s indoor space, 
outdoor space, and the number of toilets and sinks. 

(2) A school-age center may only care for children in activity areas approved by CCLD. 

(3) A school-age center must have CCLD approval prior to using a new room, activity area, or outdoor 
space to care for children. 

(4) A school-age center must not exceed its licensed capacity at any time, including the total number of 
children in care both at and away from the center. 

(5) A school-age center shall have a minimum of 50 square feet of indoor activity area per child or may 
have a minimum of 35 square feet of indoor activity area per child if: 

(a) The children in care have access to a larger gross motor area, either indoor or outdoor, on a 
daily basis; or 

(b) The school-age center has a plan, approved by CCLD, which addresses how the gross motor 
needs of children in care will be met. 

(6) Activity space must be available for use by children and used exclusively for child care during the hours 
of operation. 

(a) If the school-age center shares a large space, such as a cafeteria, with children who are not 
enrolled in the school-age center, the center must designate spaces for child care children, 
such as specific tables. 

(b) Shelves or storage for children’s materials that are accessible to children may be counted as part 
of the indoor space. 

(c) Single use areas such as kitchens, hallways, restrooms, storage areas and closets, rooms 
designated for staff use such as offices and break rooms, and space occupied by furniture not 
designed for children’s use such as work space and cabinets must be excluded when 
determining activity space. 

(7) A school-age center must provide an outdoor activity space of no less than 75 square feet for each 
child using the space at one time. 

(8) A school-age center must provide indoor toilets and sinks that children can safely and easily access. 

(a) A school-age center must provide one toilet for every 15 children. 

(b) Urinals may be substituted for one-half the required number of toilets, if there are at least 
two toilets in the center. Facilities built specifically as child care centers after July 15, 2001 
cannot substitute urinals for the required number of toilets. 
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(c) A school-age center must provide at least one handwashing sink for every two toilets. 

(d) Sinks must be located in the same room or adjacent to the room where toilets are located. 

(e) Handwashing sinks in the food service area cannot be counted in the required number of sinks. 

414-310-0450  Facility Structure 

(1) A school-age center must ensure that children do not have access to heating equipment such as 
furnaces, fireplaces, stoves, steam and hot water pipes, and electric space heaters, or to cooling 
equipment such as air conditioner compressors. 

(a) A school-age center must have adequate heating and ventilation to maintain the indoor 
temperature no lower than 68°F and no higher than 85°F when children are present. If the 
center is unable to maintain an internal temperature between 68°F and 85°F, a school-age 
center must utilize strategies to help children stay warm or cool. 

(b) A school-age center must ensure that all rooms including the kitchen and restrooms have 
enough ventilation to keep them free from excessive heat, condensation, smoke, fumes, 
and unpleasant odors. 

(c) After painting or laying carpet, the building must be aired out completely for at least 24 
hours with good ventilation before children can return. 

(2) A school-age center’s heating equipment must be safe to operate. 

(a) Flammable materials including papers, curtains, and furniture must be at least 3 feet 
from furnaces, fireplaces, or other heating devices. 

(b) Open flame, unvented and vent free gas or oil heaters, generators, and portable fuel-
burning space heaters are prohibited while children are in care. 

(c) Heating units that involve flame must be vented properly to the outside and supplied with a 
source of combustion air that meets the manufacturer’s installation requirements. 

(d) Electric baseboard heaters may be used when wired directly into the electrical system and 
no objects are in contact with the heating elements. 

(e) Portable electric space heaters must: 

(A) Be attended while in use and be off when unattended; 

(B) Have an automatic shut off feature for tipping over and overheating; 

(C) Have protective covering to keep hands and objects away from the electric heating 
element; 

(D) Bear the safety certification mark of a nationally recognized testing laboratory; 

(E) Be placed only on the floor; 

(F) Be properly vented, as required for proper functioning; and 

(G) Be used according to the manufacturer’s instructions. 

(f) Fireplaces, fireplace inserts, and wood/corn pellet stoves, if used, must: 
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(A) Have a secure, stable protective safety screen; 

(B) Be installed in accordance with the local or regional building code and the 
manufacturer’s installation instructions; and 

(C) Be inspected and cleaned annually 

(3) A school-age center’s electrical system must not pose a risk to children. 

(a) Electrical wiring and power strips with surge protectors must be inaccessible to children. 

(b) Electrical cords must be in good working condition, not torn or frayed, and not have any 
exposed wires. 

(c) Extension cords may only be used for a brief, temporary purpose and must not replace direct 
wiring. 

(d) Electrical products plugged into an outlet near a water source such as a sink, water table, or 
swimming pool, must use a special outlet called a ground fault circuit interrupter (GFCI). 

(4) All septic systems must meet the requirements of the Department of Environmental Quality. A private 
septic system must be inspected by a septic system maintenance service provider, monitored on a 
routine basis, and any deficiencies corrected. 

(5) Lighting levels must be bright enough for comfort, safety, and adequate supervision. Light fixtures must 
be equipped with covers, shields, or shatter resistant bulbs. 

(6) A school-age center’s floor surfaces must be easily cleanable and free of broken or loose tile, large 
or unsealed cracks, splinters, torn carpet or vinyl, and holes. Carpet must not be used in food 
preparation areas and restrooms. 

414-310-0460  Water Supply and Plumbing 

(1) A school-age center’s water supply must be from a public water supply or well, and must be tested 

for lead, unless the school-age center uses an CCLD approved alternative water source. 

(a) A school-age center must notify CCLD and all families when the water supply is interrupted 

for more than one hour or the water source becomes contaminated. 

(b) If the water supply does not meet applicable levels established in (3) and (4), the center 

must obtain a sufficient supply of potable water such as bottled water to ensure compliance 

with rules for drinking and cooking until treatment or an alternate source is obtained. The 

faucet must not be used for consumption or food preparation until the lead levels have 

been mitigated. 

(2) If applying for certification, including, but not limited to, initial applications, renewal applications 

and reopen applications, a center must test each faucet used for drinking or food preparation for 

lead in the water, unless the school-age center uses an CCLD approved alternative water source.   

(3) After initial testing, a center must test all drinking water faucets or fixtures for lead at least once 

every six years from the date of the last test.  There must be no more than 15 parts per billion (ppb) 

of lead. 
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(4) All testing must be performed by a laboratory accredited by the Oregon Laboratory Accreditation 

Program according to standards set under OAR chapter 333, division 64 in effect as of September 

30, 2018. All sample collection and testing must be in accordance with the EPA’s 3Ts for Reducing 

Lead in Drinking Water in Schools and Child Care Facilities, Revised Manual from October 2018, 

adopted by reference. 

(5) If using a private well, a school-age center must have the water tested at least once every six years 

for coliform bacteria and nitrates.  Test results must show: 

(a) No presence of Ecoli bacteria; and 

(b) Less than ten parts per million (ppm) for nitrates. If test results for nitrates are greater than 

five but less than ten ppm, the water must be retested within six months.  

(6) A school-age center must submit all test results to CCLD within 10 calendar days of receiving the 

results from the laboratory. The test results must be accompanied by a floor plan or map of the 

facility that identifies the location of each drinking water faucet or fixture tested. 

(7) If test results show that water from any drinking water faucet or fixture has unsafe levels of lead, 

coliform bacteria or nitrates, the school-age center: 

(a) Must prevent access to that drinking water faucet or fixture immediately after receiving the 

test results and until mitigation is complete; 

(b) Must use only bottled or packaged water to meet the requirements of this section;  

(c) Must submit a corrective action plan to CCLD for approval within 60 days of receiving the 

test results. The corrective action plan must identify an appropriate mitigation strategy in 

accordance with Module 6 of the EPA’s 3Ts for Reducing Lead in Drinking Water in Schools 

and Child Care Facilities, Revised Manual from October 2018, adopted by reference; 

(d)  Must implement the mitigation method within 30 days of approval by CCLD; and 

(e)  May consult with the Oregon Health Authority for technical assistance. 

(8) A school-age center must keep a copy of the most recent test results on-site at all times.  

(9) A school-age center must have the most recent water test results summary provided by CCLD 

immediately upon receipt available in a prominent and frequently visited location for the parents 

and public to view (also see OAR 414-310-0250, Items Available to View). 

(10) If a school-age center does not use any of the on-site plumbing fixtures to obtain water for drinking, 

cooking, or preparing food, the center must: 

(a) Submit a written statement annually at the time of renewal to CCLD identifying the 

alternative source of water and confirming that the center does not use any on-site 

plumbing fixtures for drinking, cooking,  or preparing food; and 

(b) Notify CCLD in writing if the alternative source of water changes. 

(11) If a faucet has not been tested within 6 years, a school-age center must discontinue using 

that faucet until testing is completed and the results are below 15 parts per billion (ppb) of lead. 
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414-310-0470  Toilets and Sinks 

(1) A school-age center must provide smooth, washable, easily-cleanable walls and floors in 
the toileting and handwashing areas. 

(2) A school-age center must provide toilets that: 

(a) Are supplied with toilet paper; 

(b) Have doors that can be unlocked from the outside with an opening device readily accessible 
to staff, if equipped with doors; and 

(c) Provide privacy, such as being screened, equipped with doors, or having children take 
turns while supervision is maintained. 

(3) A school-age center must have handwashing sinks that: 

(a) Have hot and cold running water, unless the center’s program is in a public school building; 

(b) Have mixing faucets if the center’s certification was in effect on July 15, 2001 and 
when toilet facilities are remodeled, and unless the center’s program is housed in 
a public school building; 

(c) If self-closing metered faucets are used, provide water flow for at least 15 seconds without 
the need to reactivate the faucet. Centers with certification in effect on July 15, 2001 
must comply with the water flow requirement for self- closing metered faucets and when 
toilet facilities are remodeled; 

(d) Have water that does not exceed 120°F; 

(e) Have liquid soap and paper towels within easy reach of children and dispensed in a 
sanitary manner with a trash container. Other hand drying options must be approved 
by the environmental health specialist; and 

(f) Are not used for preparation of food or drinks, dish washing, rinsing soiled clothing, 
cleaning equipment that is used for toileting, or for the disposal of any wastewater used 
in cleaning the center. 

(4) When plumbing is unavailable to provide a handwashing sink, a school-age center may provide a 
handwashing sink using a portable water supply and a sanitary catch system, with a written 
plan approved by a local public health department. A mechanism must be in place to prevent 
children from gaining access to soiled water or more than one child from washing in the same 
water. 

414-310-0480  Prevention and Management of Hazards 

(1) A school-age center must ensure that all toxic or potentially dangerous items, such as cleaning 
supplies and equipment, poisonous and toxic materials, and flammable and corrosive materials, 
are stored in a manner that prevents use or access by children. 

(a) Toxic substances must be stored separately from medication, food service equipment, and 
food supplies. 

(b) Products including toxic substances must be stored and used according to the 
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manufacturer’s instructions including not storing products near heat sources. 

(c) Products must be stored in the original labeled containers. Any smaller containers or 
solutions mixed by staff must be labeled with the contents of the container. 

(2) A school-age center must take steps to prevent children’s exposure to the following if they exist on 
the premises: 

(a) Lead based paint. Any building or play structure constructed before 1978 that has peeling, 
flaking, chalking, or failing paint must be tested for lead. If lead-based paint is found, the 
center must contact the Oregon Health Authority within 5 working days and follow their 
required procedures for remediation of the lead hazard; 

(b) Plumbing and fixtures containing lead or lead solders; 

(c) Asbestos; 

(d) Toxic mold; and 

(e) Other identified toxins or hazards. 

(3) A school-age center and staff must recognize, address or remove potentially dangerous items and 
situations, using protective barriers to prevent children’s access, if needed. A school-age center 
must: 

(a) Inspect the indoor and outdoor play areas and equipment daily for hazards, such as 
missing parts or broken equipment, sharp edges, splinters, and trash; and 

(b) Ensure open containers of water used for children’s play, such as water tables, are emptied 
immediately after use. 

(4) A school-age center must not permit any tobacco products such as cigarettes, cigars, and 
smokeless or vaping devices, illegal drugs, drug paraphernalia, hemp, marijuana and marijuana 
infused products, or alcohol on the premises during operating hours or when children are present. 
This includes: 

(a) The playground; 

(b) Within 10 feet of any entrance, exit, or window that opens or any ventilation intake that serves 
an enclosed area; or 

(c) In any center vehicles or on any field trip. 

(5) A school-age center must not permit the possession or storage of guns, firearms, weapons, or 
ammunition on the center premises at any time. 

(6) A school-age center must ensure that all pools and other bodies of water such as hot tubs, spas, 
ponds, creeks, fountains, ornamental ponds, and rain barrels are inaccessible to all children. 

(a) Pools and hot tubs must be made inaccessible through one of the following methods: 

(A) A locking, rigid cover; 

(B) A minimum 4 foot high fence that begins at ground level, and all gates and doors that 
allow access are locked; 

(C) Four foot non-climbable sides with pool ladder removed or inaccessible; or 
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(D) In a locked room or all doors that access the area are locked. 

(b) If a body of water is in close proximity but not located on the premises, the center must 
provide a physical barrier on the property to prevent unsupervised access by children. 

(7) A school-age center must keep the center free of insects, rodents and other pests. 

(a) Automatic insecticide dispensers, vaporizers, or fumigants must not be used. 

(b) Pest control products must not be applied or used when children are present. After their 
application, children must not enter the area until indicated by the manufacturer's 
instructions. 

(8) A school-age center must take precautions to protect children from vehicular traffic including but not 
limited to: 

(a) Require drop off and pick up only at the curb or at an off-street location protected from traffic; 
and 

(b) Assure that any adult who supervises drop-off and loading can see and assure that children 
are clear of the perimeter of all vehicles before any vehicle moves. 

(9) Personal items belonging to staff members must be stored according to applicable rules. 

414-310-0490  Maintenance and Sanitation  

(also see 414-310-0600, Food Service, and 414-310-0610, Food Storage and Preparation for additional 
sanitation rules). 
 

(1) A school-age center must routinely clean, sanitize and disinfect surfaces and objects that are 
frequently touched as follows:  

(a) Clean surfaces with a soap and water solution or spray cleaner and rinse before sanitizing or 
disinfecting;  

(b) Mix, use and store cleaners, sanitizers and disinfectants according to label directions; 

(c) Prevent the contamination of food, food-contact items and surfaces when using cleaners, 
sanitizers or disinfectants;  

(d) Ensure sanitizers or disinfectants have an Environmental Protection Agency registration 
number on the label; and 

(e) Follow label directions or ensure sanitizers and disinfectants remain on the surface for five 
minutes. 

(2) A school-age center must maintain the building, equipment, and vehicles in good repair, in a clean 
and sanitary condition, and free of clutter and litter. 

(a) Walls and ceilings must be free from water damage, holes, and peeling paper and paint. 

(b) Floors must be cleaned by either sweeping or vacuuming at least once per day or more 
often as needed. 

(c) Windows and doors must be free of damage such as broken glass and other hazards. 
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(d) The kitchen, toilet rooms, toilets, and sinks must be cleaned and sanitized or disinfected as 
needed and at least daily. 

(e) Door knobs and cabinet pulls in toilet rooms must be sanitized when soiled and at least 
daily. 

(f) Water tables, similar containers, and water toys must be emptied and sanitized daily or 
more often if necessary. 

(3) A school-age center must immediately clean up any spills of biocontaminants, such as urine, feces, 
blood, saliva, nasal discharge, eye discharge, and other bodily fluids as follows:  

(a) Staff must use disposable, nonporous gloves when handling biocontaminants; 

(b) Surfaces must be cleaned and disinfected; 

(c) Blood-contaminated material must be disposed of in a plastic bag with a secure tie or 
container with a disposable liner; 

(d) Gloves must be removed immediately after use, placed in a tied, sealed, or otherwise closed 
plastic bag and discarded immediately; and 

(e) Hands must be washed after using and disposing of the gloves. 

(4) A school-age center must keep all garbage and biocontaminant waste in non-absorbent, easily 
washable containers. 

(5) Garbage cans and receptacles must be emptied on a daily basis and cleaned and disinfected as 
needed. 

(a) Garbage and waste must be removed from the premises at least once a week. 

(b) Garbage and waste containers and storage areas must be kept clean and minimize the 
presence of rodents, flies, roaches and other vermin. 

(c) Items that cause offensive odors must be disposed of in a covered container. 

414-310-0500  Fire Protection  

(1) A school-age center must ensure that the building, occupant load, and means of egress, including 

the number of exits, exiting distances, doors, and exit illumination and signs are maintained in 

accordance with the requirements of the Oregon Structural Specialty Code. 

(2) Doorways, exit access paths, passageways, corridors and exits must be kept free of materials, 

furniture, equipment and debris to allow unobstructed egress travel to the outside. 

(3) A school-age center must not use rooms for child care that are located above or below the ground 

floor, except as allowed by the Oregon Structural Specialty Code, and approved by the local or state 

fire code official. 

(4) A school-age center must have the size, type and number of fire extinguishers installed, maintained 

and tested as required by the fire code official.   

(5) A school-age center must have smoke detectors that are installed, maintained, and tested as 

required by the fire code official. 
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(6) A carbon monoxide alarm or detector must be installed and tested in accordance with the 

manufacturer's recommended instructions and located in accordance with the applicable building 

code. 

(7) A school-age center must ensure that all areas and equipment of the center are free from fire 

hazards including combustible materials such as lint build-up in heating and air vents, filters, and 

dryer vents, gasoline, chemicals, and solvents.    

(8) A school-age center must not use items with open flames, except for the brief supervised use of 

candles.   

414-310-0510  Furniture 

(1) A school-age center must ensure that furniture is: 

(a) Installed, maintained, and used according to the manufacturer's instructions;  

(b) Cleanable; 

(c) Safely constructed and lead free, with no sharp, rough, or sharp edges or loose parts; 

(d) In good working condition and repair with no holes or tears; and 

(e) Stable or anchored.  

(2) A school-age center must provide developmentally appropriate table space and seating for all 

children.  

(3) A school-age center must provide a safe, washable cot or rest mat for any child who wants to rest, 

and for a child that needs to be isolated due to illness. 

(a) Cots and mats must be cleaned and sanitized when soiled and before use by another child.  

(b) Each mat used for napping must be: 

(A) Covered with a durable, washable, waterproof, form-fitting material;  

(B) At least one inch thick; and 

(C) Free of rips, tears or tape. 

(4) A school-age center must provide storage space for each child's clothing and personal possessions 

as well as space for teaching equipment, records and files, and cleaning equipment and supplies. 

414-310-0520  Play Materials 

(1) A school-age center must provide play equipment and materials that are: 

(a) Appropriate to the developmental needs, interests and abilities of the children; 

(b) Sturdy and free of sharp points or corners, splinters, protruding nails or bolts, loose or 
rusty parts, or paint that contains lead or other toxic materials; 

(c) Have smooth, nonporous surfaces or washable fabric surfaces that are easy to clean and sanitize, 
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or be disposable; 

(d) In good condition; and 

(e) Easily accessible to the children. 

(2) A school-age center must provide a shock-absorbing floor surface under and around indoor-climbing 
equipment and platforms over 18 inches in height that will effectively cushion the fall of a child. The 
surface must be installed in the use zone and maintained according to manufacturer's instructions. 

(3) A school-age center must offer a quantity and variety of play materials (i.e., toys, books, and 
games) for each age group that is sufficient to: 

(a) Avoid competition for popular items; 

(b) Provide a variety of choices to each child; 

(c) Provide a balance of: 

(A) Active and quiet activities; and 

(B) Individual and group activities; 

(d) Meet the developmental needs of each group of children; and 

(e) Provide the variety of activities required in 414-310-0400 Activity Plan, as appropriate. 

(4) A school-age center must provide a variety of developmentally appropriate toys, materials and 
equipment which give children choices such as manipulatives, language and literary materials, 
art materials, table games, music, or dramatic play. 

(5) If engaged in activities that include a tool that could pose a safety risk (e.g., iron, glue gun, 
woodworking tool), staff must first instruct children in the tool’s proper use and safety measures. 
A staff person must be actively engaged with the activity to reduce the risk of injury. 

(6) A school-age center must provide culturally and racially diverse learning opportunities 
within the center’s curriculum, activities, and materials that represent all children, 
families, and staff. 

(a) Equipment and materials that support diversity include, but are not limited to: 

(A) Diverse dolls, books, pictures, games, or materials that do not reinforce stereotypes; 

(B) Diverse music from many cultures in children's primary languages; and 

(C) A balance of different ethnic and cultural groups, ages, abilities, family styles, and 
genders. 

(b) A school-age center must actively reflect on the learning opportunities provided in the 
program to broaden cultural understanding and representation of the cultural 
backgrounds of the children in the program. 

414-310-0530  Outdoor Space 

(1) A school-age center must provide an outdoor play area that children can reach safely. 

(2) If the school-age center is located in a public school and uses the public school playground as the 
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outdoor play space, OAR 414-310-0530(3) through (6) are not required. 

(3) If an outdoor play area is not connected to or in direct control of the school-age center, such as a 
public park, the center must have a written plan, approved by CCLD, that describes how the 
center will maintain the safety of the children in care. The written plan must include the 
following: 

(a) Distance the alternate outdoor play area is located from the center; 

(b) Detailed description of how the children will reach the alternate area; 

(c) Neighborhood and outdoor play area circumstances, hazards, and risks; 

(d) Availability of appropriate equipment with fall zones and protective surfacing; 

(e) Verification that parents have been made aware that their children will be using an 
alternate outside play area and its location; 

(f) Safeguards the center will be taking in order to ensure children are properly supervised 
while traveling to and using the space; 

(g) Nature of other activities and persons who may be sharing the space; 

(h) Availability of restroom facilities; and 

(i) Ability to obtain assistance if needed when injury or illness occurs. 

(4) A school-age center must ensure that use zones in which a child falling or exiting from play equipment 
are: 

(a) A minimum of 6 feet of clearance from walkways, buildings and the external perimeter of 
equipment; 

(b) Free of obstacles other than the equipment itself that a child could run into or fall on; 

(c) Arranged to prevent hazards from conflicting activities; 

(d) Extended at least 6 feet in all directions from the equipment perimeter unless the fall 
potential in that direction is minimal, such as play equipment with guardrails or barriers 
or the sides of swings; 

(e) Allowing for single-axis swings that move forward and backward, to extend a minimum 
distance of twice the vertical distance from the pivot point to the protective surface to the 
front and rear of the swing midpoint; 

(f) Allowing for multi-axis swings, such as tire swings that move in a circle, to extend six feet 
plus the distance of the height of the top of the swing set to the bottom on the swing’s 
seat in every direction from the midpoint. At least a 30- inch clearance between a fully 
extended tire swing seat and the support structure is required. 

(5) A school-age center must always maintain protective surfacing in use zones under all outdoor 
equipment of 18 inches or higher. Acceptable materials include wood mulch, double shredded bark 
mulch, shredded or recycled rubber, uniform wood chips, sand, pea gravel or rubber mats or 
poured in place rubber manufactured for such use. Hog fuel is not permitted. 

(a) Rubber mats or poured in place rubber must: 
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(A) Be tested to ASTM F1292; 

(B) Be installed and maintained according to manufacturer’s specifications; and 

(C) Not have rips, tears, loose seams, or other conditions that may pose a hazard. 

(b) Loose-fill materials must: 

(A) Have a minimum depth of 9 inches if using loose-fill material other than 
shredded/recycled rubber or 6 inches if using shredded/recycled rubber; 

(B) Remain loose at the required depth by replacing, leveling, or raking the material; and 

(C) Not be installed over concrete or asphalt. 

(6) A school-age center must securely anchor any non-portable piece of climbing or swinging 
equipment according to manufacturer’s instructions. 

(7) A school-age center must keep outdoor play areas free of litter, animal waste, solid waste and 
refuse, ditches, or other conditions presenting a potential hazard. 

(8) A school-age center must provide a shaded area accessible to children in the outdoor play areas. 
Shade may be provided by trees, buildings, or shade structures. 

(9) The play equipment is arranged to allow for an open, continuous, uninterrupted, and unobstructed 
area. 

(10) Trampolines, other than rebounders, are prohibited. Rebounders are permitted only when 
used according to manufacturer’s instructions. 

(11) Inflatable equipment such as: bounce houses, moon walkers, and giant slides, etc., are 
permitted when used according to manufacturer’s instructions. Staff must be physically 
positioned to respond if needed. 

(12) A school-age center must provide outdoor gross motor equipment that addresses a variety of 
skills (for example, climbing, balancing, throwing, catching, pedaling, and steering). 

(13) A school-age center must ensure each child, while on the premises, using a bicycle, scooter, 
skateboard, roller or in- line skates, is wearing a well-fitting helmet, whether indoors or outdoors. 

414-310-0540  Handwashing 

(1) Staff and children shall wash their hands with soap and warm running water: 

(a) After using the toilet; 

(b) After assisting someone with toileting; 

(c) Before handling food; and 

(d) Before and after eating. 

(2) Staff and children must either wash their hands with soap and warm running water or use hand 
sanitizer with alcohol content between 60-95%: 

(a) After wiping the nose; 

(b) After coughing or sneezing; 
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(c) When arriving at the center; 

(d) After outside activities; and 

(e) After handling pet toys or touching animals, other than dogs and cats. 

(3) When handwashing is not possible but required by OAR 414-310-0540(1), e.g. on field trips and on 
the playground, moist towelettes and hand sanitizer with alcohol content between 60-95% shall be 
used together. 

(4) For children who are not able to wash their own hands, staff may wash children’s hands with a single-
use cloth rather than under running water. 

414-310-0550  Illness 

(1) A school-age center must observe and monitor each child upon their arrival at the center and 
throughout the hours of care for symptoms of an illness and obvious signs of infestation or physical 
injuries. 

(a) A child's temperature is taken when there is a concern. 

(b) A child's temperature is not taken rectally at any age. 

(c) Mercury and glass thermometers are not used. 

(2) A school-age center must not accept a child into care who: 

(a) Is diagnosed as having or being a carrier of a child care restrictable disease, as defined in 
Oregon Health Authority administrative rules, except with the written approval of the 
public health administrator or licensed health care provider; or 

(b) Has one or more of the following symptoms of illness, except with the written 
approval of the public health administrator or licensed health care provider: 

(A) Fever over 100.4°F. A child with a fever over 100.4°F may return if fever free 
for 24 hours without the aid of medication; 

(B) “Diarrhea”, which means three or more watery, bloody, or loose stools in 24 hours, 
the sudden onset of loose stools, or a child is unable to control bowel function when 
previously able. A child with diarrhea may return 48 hours after diarrhea resolves or 
with written clearance from a licensed healthcare provider; 

(C) Vomiting at least one time, where there is no explanation for the vomiting. A child 
who vomits without explanation may return 48 hours after the last episode of 
vomiting or with written clearance from a licensed healthcare provider; 

(D) Severe or persistent coughing. A child with severe or persistent coughing may return 
after symptoms are improving for 24 hours or with written clearance from a 
licensed healthcare provider. 

(E) Unusual yellow color to skin or eyes. A child with unusual yellow color to skin or eyes 
may return to care with written clearance from a licensed healthcare provider; 

(F) Open sores or wounds discharging bodily fluids. A child with open sores or wounds 
discharging bodily fluids may return to care after rash is resolved, when sores and 
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wounds are dry or can be completely covered with a bandage, or with written 
clearance from a licensed health care provider; 

(G) Stiff neck and headache with one or more of the symptoms listed above; 

(H) Uncharacteristic lethargy, decreased alertness, increased irritability, increased 
confusion, or a behavior change that prevents active participation in usual school 
activities. A child with any of the above symptoms may return to care when symptoms 
resolve, return to normal behavior, or with written clearance from a licensed health 
care provider; 

(I) Difficulty breathing or abnormal wheezing. A child with difficulty breathing or 
abnormal wheezing may return to care after symptoms are improving for 24 hours; 

(J) Complaints of severe pain. A child with complaints of severe pain may return to care after 
symptoms are improving; 

(K) Eye lesions that are severe, weeping, or pus filled. A child with eye lesions that are 
severe, weeping, or pus filled may return to care after symptoms resolve or with 
written clearance from a licensed healthcare provider. 

(3) If a child who has been admitted into care shows signs of illness, as described in this rule, a school-age 
center must: 

(a) Separate the child from the other children in a location where the child can be seen and 
heard by staff and carefully observed at all times. 

(b) Notify the parent to remove the child from the center as soon as possible. 

(c) Until the parent arrives, provide the child with an individual cot, mat, or bed that 
can be easily cleaned and disinfected after use. 

(d) Give extra attention to handwashing and sanitation including cleaning and disinfecting toys, 
equipment, and surfaces used by the ill child immediately after the child leaves. 

(e) Keep disposable items and used linens in a closed container in the isolation area until cleaned or 
thrown away. 

(4) If any child, staff member or volunteer has a restrictable disease, as defined in Oregon Health 
Authority, Public Health Division Chapter 333, Division 19 Investigation and Control of Diseases: 
General Powers And Responsibilities, a school-age center must: 

(a) Immediately report the incident or illness to the local health department; 

(b) Follow the health department’s recommendations on exclusion and readmission of children 
and staff; and 

(c) Post a notice for the parents of all children who attend the center. 

(5) A school-age center must develop a written care plan at the time of enrollment, or when an allergy is 
identified, for each enrolled child who has an allergy that poses a threat to the child’s health, safety 
and wellbeing. The plan must include instructions regarding the allergen and steps to be taken to 
avoid the allergen; signs and symptoms of an allergic reaction; and a detailed treatment plan 
including the names, doses, and methods of prompt administration of any medication in response 
to allergic reactions. In addition, 
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(a) The parent must be notified immediately of any suspected allergic reactions or if the 
child consumed or came in contact with the allergen, even if a reaction did not occur; 

(b) If epinephrine is administered, emergency medical services must be contacted immediately, 
and, Child Care Licensing Division must be notified within 24 hours; 

(c) All staff involved in care of the child must be trained on the written care plan; 

(d) Specific food allergies must be shared with all staff that prepare and serve food; and 

(e) A list of each child’s allergies should be easily accessible for staff but not visible to those 
who are not parents or guardians of the enrolled child. 

414-310-0560  Injuries 

(1) A school-age center must have and follow written procedures for handling injuries that are made 
known to all staff, including: 

(a) Procedure for requesting or taking a child to emergency medical care; 

(b) First aid measures for serious accidents; 

(c) Routine care for treatment of minor injuries; 

(d) Standard precautions to handle potential exposure to blood and other potentially 
infectious fluids (see OAR 414- 310-0490 Maintenance and Sanitation); 

(e) Notification of parents: 

(A) Any injury that may need evaluation by a physician or impact to a child’s head 
must be reported to the child’s parent(s) immediately and documented. 

(B) Any injury requiring first aid or requiring observation must be reported to 
the child’s parent(s) on the day of occurrence. 

(f) Ensuring supervision of other children in the group. 

(2) A school-age center must complete a report of any serious injury or incident, and include: 

(a) The child's full name and age; 

(b) The date of occurrence, time, type, circumstances, witnesses, and location at the center or off-
site; 

(c) Time and date of notification of parents; 

(d) The signatures of the reporting staff and program leader; 

(e) Action taken to prevent reoccurrence; and 

(f) The signature of the parent indicating that they reviewed it or received a copy of the 
report within 48 hours of when the incident occurred. An email or text with confirmation 
of receipt will count as a parent signature. 

(3) A school-age center must keep written reports of injuries on file in one location and for at least two 
years. 

(4) A school-age center must maintain, at a minimum, the following first aid supplies at the center, in any 
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vehicle used to transport children in care, and for group activities away from the center: 

(a) Non-medicated adhesive bandages (assorted sizes); 

(b) Adhesive tape; 

(c) Sterile gauze pads (various sizes); 

(d) A sling, or a large triangular bandage; 

(e) Bottled water (for cleaning wounds or eyes); 

(f) Liquid handwashing soap or handwashing gel; 

(g) Sealed antiseptic towelettes or solution to be used as a wound cleaning agent; 

(h) Scissors; 

(i) Tweezers; 

(j) Disposable latex-free, powder-free gloves; 

(k) Plastic bags (for disposing of blood and other body fluids); 

(l) Mercury-free and glass-free thermometer; 

(m) Cold pack; 

(n) Chlorine bleach or other disinfectant for cleaning spills of blood and other bodily fluids; 

(o) Flexible rolled gauze; and 

(p) A chart or handbook of first aid instructions. 

(5) A school-age center must ensure that the first aid supplies are readily available to staff and kept 
inaccessible to children. 

(6) A school-age center must maintain the first aid supplies in a clean and sanitary manner and replace 
them as needed, including expired items. 

414-310-0570  Medications 

(1) Before a school-age center gives a child any prescription or non-prescription medication, including, 
but not limited to, pain relievers, cough syrup, and nose drops, the center must: 

(a) Have a signed, dated, written authorization by the parent(s) on file (also see OAR 
414-310-0210, Parental Permissions); 

(A) For chronic medical conditions, a school-age center may obtain permission for 
12 months or less with specific instructions including when administration is 
needed, such as inhalers. 

(B) Parental authorization over the phone is permitted for single dose administration 
of non-prescription medication. The date and time of the consent must be 
documented and signed by the parent upon picking up their child. 

(b) Ensure that the original container is labeled with the name of the medication, 
dosage, and directions for administration and storage. 
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(A) For prescription medication, the label must include the child’s name, the date 
the prescription was filled, the prescribing physician's name, and length of 
time to give the medication. 

(B) If parent instructions differ from the container instructions, a school-age center 
must have a licensed physician's written instructions for that medication. 

(C) Medication must not be administered after the expiration date. 

(D) Any medication provided by the parents must be labeled with the child’s name. 

(c) Ensure that cleaned and sanitized medication measuring devices are used when providing 
medication to a child care child, if applicable. 

(2) A school-age center must immediately document any medication administered, listing the name of 
the child, type of medication, date, time, and dosage given, any side effects exhibited by the child, 
and the signature of the person administering the medication. 

(3) A school-age center must inform parent(s) daily of all medications administered to their child. 

(4) If medication is provided by the parent, a school-age center must administer medication only to the 
child for whom it is intended, and follow the directions on the label. 

(5) A school-age center must ensure that all medications are stored in a manner that prevents use or 
access by children. When available, child-resistant caps must be used. Medications must be stored 
away from food. 

(a) Emergency medicine may be placed in an unlocked container that is kept out of reach of 
children while inside the facility. 

(b) Emergency medicine may not be stored in the child's personal belongings while inside the 
facility unless the center obtains written parental consent to permit children who have 
asthma to carry their own inhalers or children who are at risk of anaphylaxis to carry their 
own epinephrine, and use them as directed. 

(6) A school-age center must keep medications requiring refrigeration in a separate tightly-
covered, leakproof container clearly marked "medication" and inaccessible to children. 

(7) If using nonmedical items including, but not limited to sunscreen, a school-age center does not 
need to document application but must: 

(a) Have annual written parental authorization; 

(b) Use only as needed and according to manufacturer’s instructions; 

(c) Inform parents of the type of sunscreen used if provided by the center; 

(d) Label the item with the child’s name if provided by the parent, and use only for that child; 

(e) Not use aerosol sunscreen products; and 

(f) Allow children to apply sunscreen to themselves with direct staff supervision and written 
parental approval. 
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414-310-0580 Care of Children with Specific Needs  

When caring for a child who has or is at increased risk for a chronic physical, developmental, behavioral, or 
emotional condition and who requires health and related services of a type or amount beyond that 
required by children generally, a school-age center must have a written care plan that includes: 

(1) A list of the child’s diagnosis/diagnoses; 

(2) Contact information for the primary care provider and any relevant sub-specialists (i.e., 
endocrinologists, oncologists, etc.); 

(3) Medications to be administered on a scheduled basis; 

(4) Medications to be administered on an emergency basis with clearly stated parameters, signs, 
and symptoms that warrant giving the medication written in language that is easy to 
understand; 

(5) Procedures to be performed and person responsible for training staff members; 

(6) Allergies; 

(7) Dietary modifications required for the health of the child; 

(8) Activity modifications; 

(9) Environmental modifications; 

(10) Stimulus that initiates or precipitates a reaction or series of reactions (triggers) to avoid; 

(11) Symptoms for staff to observe; 

(12) Behavioral  modifications; 

(13) Emergency response plans – both if the child has a medical emergency and special factors to 
consider in a programmatic emergency, like a fire; 

(14) Any necessary special skills training and education for staff and the person responsible for training 
staff members; and 

(15) Any individualized services (e.g. occupational therapy, speech services) that will be provided at 
the center. If the individualized service required the child be out of direct supervision of child care 
staff, parental permission is required. 

414-310-0590  Kitchen and Food Service Areas 

(1) If there is no kitchen in the center and if meals or snacks are not catered, a school-age center must 

observe the requirements under OAR 414-310-0600, Food Service. 

(2) A school-age center’s kitchen must be separate from any child care areas and not allow for 

unsupervised access by children and adults who are not qualified to follow sanitation and safety 

procedures. 

(a) The food preparation area is not used as a passageway while food is being prepared.  

(b) Children must not be allowed in the kitchen except for a supervised learning activity. 
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(3) Walls, floors, and ceilings must be smooth, washable and easily cleanable in all rooms in which food 

or drink is prepared or stored, or utensils are washed or stored. A school-age center must ensure 

that all equipment and utensils used for food service, including shelving and food-contact surfaces, 

are: 

(a) Easily cleanable, including beneath, between and behind each piece of equipment; 

(b) Durable and in good repair; 

(c) Non-toxic; 

(d) Smooth and nonabsorbent with no unsealed chips, cracks or seams; and 

(e) Maintained in a clean and sanitary condition. 

(4) In areas where food is prepared or food contact items are washed, a school-age center must 

provide: 

(a) Hot and cold running water under pressure; and 

(b) Dishwashing equipment that meets the requirements in the Oregon Health Authority's 

administrative rules. 

(A) Centers with a maximum capacity of 19 children may use a light commercial 

dishwasher approved by an environmental health specialist. 

(B) A school-age center must have a two-compartment sink and an automatic 

dishwasher that sanitizes with heat or chemicals; or 

(C) Use a three-compartment sink method (sink one is used to wash, sink two is used to 

rinse, sink three contains a sanitizer, and the dishes are allowed to air dry). 

(D) Separate sinks approved by the environmental health specialist for handwashing, for 

food preparation activities, and for dishwashing activities. 

(c) The handwashing sink must have a mixed-valve faucet and not be used for food preparation 

and dishwashing.  

(5) In centers without a sink for food preparation, a school-age center may use a sink for dishwashing if 

it does not interfere with sanitary food preparation.  The sink must be sanitized before being used 

for food preparation. 

(6)  A school-age center must dispense soap and paper towels in a sanitary manner and, unless located 

in a public school building, post a sign demonstrating the proper handwashing technique at the sink 

designated for handwashing.  

(7) A school-age center must meet the requirements for handwashing sinks established by State 

Building Code, as defined in ORS chapter 455, if the center’s physical building was newly 

constructed or remodeled after July 15, 2001. 
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(8) A school-age center must provide accurate thermometers designed to measure cold storage 

temperature in refrigerators and freezers that are clearly visible and easy to read.  Thermometers in 

refrigerators must show a reading of 41°F or below, and thermometers in freezers must show a 

reading of 0°F or below. 

(9) A school-age center must maintain all stove vents and filters free of grease build-up and food 

spatters and in good repair. 

(a) In centers using commercial cooking equipment to prepare meals, ventilation must be 

equipped with an exhaust system in compliance with the applicable building, mechanical, 

and fire codes.  

(b) All gas ranges in centers must be mechanically vented and fumes filtered prior to discharge 

to the outside.  

(10) A school-age center must store food waste in leak-proof, non-absorbent containers, covered with 

a tight-fitting lid, that are emptied, cleaned, and sanitized or disinfected daily.  

(11)  A school-age center must provide adequate space for the storage of food and food-contact 

items that is dry, clean, above the floor, and protected from splash and other contamination. 

(a) Containers for food storage other than the original container or package in which the food 

was obtained, must be impervious and non-absorbent, have tight-fitting lids or covers, and 

labeled as to contents.  

(b) Poisonous or toxic materials and cleaning supplies must not be stored with food.   

414-310-0600  Food Service 

(1) A school-age center’s food service must include the following: 

(a) Children in care for more than 3 ½ consecutive hours must be served a meal or snack every 3 ½ 
hours; 

(b) Children arriving after school are served a snack; and 

(c) Children scheduled to attend prior to 7:00 a.m. or after 6:30 p.m. are offered breakfast or 
dinner. 

(2) A school-age center must make sure drinking water is always available to children in each classroom 
and after active play and served in a sanitary manner that prevents contamination. 

(3) A school-age center must provide each child with individual dishes, cups, and utensils for eating and 
drinking. Single service items such as paper plates, cups and napkins, and plastic utensils may be used 
only once and must be discarded after use. 

(4) A school-age center must make additional servings available if a child remains hungry. 

(5) A school-age center must maintain staff-to-child ratios during meal and snack service and while children 
are eating. 

(6) If a school-age center serve family style meals, where food is brought to the table in larger 
quantities and served to the plates from the table, the center must have a written plan, approved 
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by CCLD and available for review by the environmental health specialist, which includes at least 
the following elements: 

(a) Separate serving portions for each table; 

(b) Serving utensils distinct from eating utensils; 

(c) Staff oversight to ensure sanitary practices; and 

(d) Provision for serving mildly ill children to prevent the spread of the illness. 

(7) A school-age center may serve a child food provided by the parent of the child only when: 

(a) Food is brought on a daily basis and is ready to eat, requiring no preparation; 

(b) All food and beverage containers are labeled with the child's name; 

(c) Each child's food is monitored daily by a staff member to ensure that the food meets 
nutritional requirements as specified in OAR 414-310-0620, Meals and Snacks; and 

(d) The center has sufficient food available to supplement any meal or snack that 
does not meet nutritional requirements as specified in OAR 414-310-0620, 
Meals and Snacks. 

(8) A school-age center must ensure that any catered foods are: 

(a) Prepared in a kitchen approved by the Oregon Health Authority or a county health 
department; 

(b) Transported and delivered in a safe, sanitary manner with hot food maintained at 
temperatures not lower than 135°F and cold foods maintained at 41°F or lower; and 

(c) Received, held, and served through a process approved by the environmental health specialist. 

(9) If a school-age center does not have a kitchen or catered meals, the center must: 

(a) Use only single service utensils; 

(b) Serve either commercially-prepared, individually-packaged, single-serving foods, or 
the serving of bulk food complies with standards in Oregon’s Food Handler 
certification; 

(c) Not use or store utensils on-site that require washing; and 

(d) Store food in a space used only for food, beverages and single-service utensils. 

(10)  On special occasions, such as birthdays, a school-age center may allow parents or guardians to 
provide snacks that may not satisfy the nutritional requirements for all children. The school age 
center may serve the snacks: 

(a) To a child only if that child’s parent has provided permission for the child to participate in 
special occasions where food is served. (also see OAR 414-310-0210, Parental 
Permissions); and 

(b) When the snacks consist of store purchased fruits and vegetables (uncut) or prepackaged foods 
in the original manufacturer containers. 
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414-310-0610  Food Storage and Preparation 

(1) A school-age center must store, prepare, and serve all food and drink provided by the center in a 
sanitary manner and protected from contamination. 

(2) Water for preparing food, drinking or cooking shall not be obtained from handwashing sinks. 

(3) A school-age center must ensure that food-contact surfaces and items, such as kitchenware, 
utensils, tableware, service items, and storage items that come into contact with food, are 
designed and constructed of safe, non-toxic materials and are smooth, nonabsorbent, easily 
cleanable, durable, and in good repair. 

(4) A school-age center must refrigerate potentially hazardous foods and all foods requiring 
refrigeration including food that children bring from home, except during preparation and service. 

(a) Milk and food must not sit out for longer than 15 minutes prior to the beginning of the meal or 
snack. 

(b) All food stored in the refrigerator must be tightly covered, wrapped, or otherwise 
protected from direct contact with other food to prevent cross contamination. 

(5) A school-age center must thaw frozen food by one of the following methods: 

(a) In a refrigerator; 

(b) Under cool running drinking water inside a pan placed in a sink with the drain plug removed; 

(c) In a microwave if the food is to be cooked as part of the continuous cooking process; or 

(d) As part of the cooking process. 

(6) A school-age center must serve food promptly after preparation or cooking or maintain it at safe 
temperatures of 41°F or below for cold foods or 135°F or above for hot foods. 

(a) A small diameter probe thermometer must be used to measure the temperature of food. 

(b) Foods that have been cooked, and then refrigerated, must be reheated rapidly to at least 
165°F before being served or placed in a hot food storage unit. 

(7) A school-age center must ensure that foods heated in a microwave are not too hot before serving to 
children. 

(8) A school-age center must prepare food according to the minimum standards identified in food 
handler certification including: 

(a) Using gloves, utensils, or tongs to serve food; 

(b) Washing raw fruits and vegetables in water to remove soil and other contaminants before 
being cut, combined with other ingredients, cooked, served, or offered for human 
consumption in ready-to-eat form; and 

(c) Preparing food on food-contact surfaces and with utensils that are cleaned and 
sanitized after each use and whenever there is a change in processing from raw to 
ready-to-eat foods. 

(9) A school-age center must protect food from contamination by: 

(a) Transferring prepared food to each child’s plate or bowl using a suitable dispensing utensil 
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that is not used for eating or any other purpose. 

(b) Washing and sanitizing bowls, platters, pitchers, and utensils used for serving food or drink 
before reusing. 

(c) Dispensing milk from commercial one-gallon or smaller plastic containers, individual half-
pint containers, or from a refrigerated bulk container equipped with an approved 
dispensing device, and: 

(A) Opening milk containers immediately before pouring; 

(B) Returning any unused portions left in the original container to refrigeration; and 

(C) Discarding any unused portions of milk left in a serving pitcher or open individual 
serving containers. 

(d) Discarding all food removed from the kitchen after meal service. 

(e) Labeling, dating, and refrigerating any prepared food which has not been removed from the 
kitchen and used within 48 hours or immediately freeze for later use. 

(f) Washing, rinsing, and sanitizing multi-use dishes, cups, serving and eating utensils, tables, 
and high chair trays after each use according to the Oregon Health Authority’s Chapter 33, 
Division 150 Food Sanitation Rules. 

(g) Air drying all tableware, equipment, and utensils after being sanitized. 

414-310-0620  Meals and Snacks 

(1) Meals and snacks for children must be: 

(a) Prepared on-site; 

(b) Obtained from a source approved by the Oregon Health Authority; or 

(c) Provided by parents. 

(2) A school-age center must ensure that all meals, snacks and beverages follow the current USDA Child 
and Adult Care Food Program (USDA-CACFP) meal pattern requirements including portion sizes. 

(3) A school-age center must develop weekly or monthly written menus that show all foods to be 
served during that period and make the menus available to parents. 

(a) Substitutions that meet nutritional requirements are permitted but must be recorded and 
made available to parents. 

(b) Menus may be rotated if there is a record of which menu was used for each date. 

(4) A school-age center must select and serve food that is safe and has nutritional value. 

(a) Foods of minimal nutritional value, such as gelatin or desserts, may only be served 
occasionally and cannot replace nutritious foods. 

(b) All food products served by the center or brought from individual homes for a group of 
children must have been inspected and come from commercial suppliers, except for: 

(A) Fresh or frozen fruits and vegetables; and 
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(B) Foods brought by parents and only consumed by their child. 

(c) A school-age center must serve beverages consisting only of water, milk or nutrionally 
equivalent milk substitute, and fruit or vegetable juice. 

(A) Fruit and vegetable juice must be pasteurized 100 percent juice. 

(B) Milk must be Grade A pasteurized and fortified milk. 

(C) Pasteurized powdered milk and evaporated milk must only be used in cooking. 

(D) A parent may request that their child not be served milk. A school-age center must 
obtain written parental permission to not serve milk to a specific child. This must be at 
the parent’s request, on a case-by-case basis, and not a center-wide policy. 

(d) The following foods must not be served or offered in uncooked food, served or offered in a 
ready-to-eat form: 

(A) Raw animal foods such as raw fish, raw meat or raw eggs; 

(B) Partially cooked animal food such as lightly cooked fish, rare meat, soft cooked eggs 
and meringue; 

(C) Raw seed sprouts; 

(D) Home canned food; 

(E) Food additives and preservatives that are not FDA-approved. 

(e) Nutrient concentrates and supplements (protein powders, liquid proteins, vitamins, 
minerals, and other nonfood substances) must not be served to a child without a written 
statement of parental consent and written instructions from a medical practitioner. 

(f) Special diets, not including vegetarian diets, may only be served to a child with written 
instructions from a registered dietician or medical practitioner and written parental 
consent. 

414-310-0630  Transportation Overview  

(1) If a school-age center transports children, the center must be in compliance with all applicable state 
laws, including current vehicle insurance that covers the driver, the vehicle, and all occupants. 

(a) If a school-age center contracts for transportation for children while they are in care, the 
center is responsible for ensuring the contracted entity meets CCLD’s transportation 
requirements including OAR 414-310-0630 through OAR 414-310-0670. The use of public 
school transportation on behalf of the school-age center is exempt from OAR 414- 310-
0630 through OAR 414-310-0670. 

(b) Documentation must be maintained as specified in OAR 414-310-0240 Program Records. 

(c) A school-age center must not transport children in vehicles or parts of vehicles not designed 
for transporting people, such as truck beds, campers, and trailers. 

(2) When children are taken on field trips, the center must ensure that: 

(a) When children are transported for long distances, the center provides rest and stretch stops as 
needed. 
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(b) Staff check a written list of children on the field trip frequently to account for the presence of 
all children and: 

(A) Prior to boarding and exiting the vehicle; and 

(B) Any time the group changes locations on site (e.g. when moving from one exhibit to the 
next) 

(c) Each child wears an easily identifiable item, such as a label, shirt or wristband, listing the name 
and telephone number of the center; 

(d) Caregivers are easily identifiable; and 

(e) A notice of field trips, including the date, destination, and estimated times of departure and 
return, is posted at least 48 hours in advance of a field trip in a prominent place where 
parents and others may view it (also see OAR 414-310- 0210 Parental Permissions and OAR 
414-310-0250 Items Available to View). 

414-310-0640  Transportation Staffing 

(1) If a driver is the only adult in the vehicle, a school-age center must ensure that the driver: 

(a) Meets Program Leader qualifications and training requirements; and 

(b) Meets additional driver and ratio requirements under OAR 414-310-0640, Transportation 
Staffing. 

(2) A school-age center must ensure that drivers of a vehicle used to transport children: 

(a) Are at least 21 years of age; 

(b) Have a valid driver’s license appropriate for the type of vehicle driven; 

(c) Are certified in first aid and CPR or accompanied by someone with certification; 

(d) Do not have any medical condition or use alcohol, drugs, tobacco or any medication that 
could compromise driving, supervision, or evacuation abilities; 

(e) Operate the vehicle in a legal and safe manner; and 

(f) Eliminate distractions such as the use of earphones or cell phones. 

(3) A school-age center must ensure that there are sufficient staff to meet the required staff-to-child 
ratios for each age group of children being transported. 

(a) The driver may count in the staff-to-child ratios (also see OAR 414-310-0360 Staff-to-Child 
Ratios and Group Size). 

(b) One staff member must be at least Program Leader qualified (also see OAR 414-310-0300, 
Program Leaders). 

(c) A school-age center may allow a parent to transport children other than the parent’s own 
children without a qualified staff member present in the vehicle, only if the parent meets 
Program Leader qualifications and transportation requirements as provided in these rules, 
and is enrolled in the CBR. 

(4) A school-age center must provide adequate supervision to protect children during 
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transportation. A school-age center must: 

(a) Never leave children unattended inside or outside the vehicle; 

(b) Immediately document each time a child enters and exits the vehicle; and 

(c) Follow notification requirements listed in OAR 414-310-0260(5) if a child is not at a designated 
pick-up location. 

414-310-0650  Transportation Safety 

(1) A school-age center must maintain the following items in the vehicle as well as at the center: 

(a) An operable phone; 

(b) Program information including center name, address, and phone number; 

(c) Proof of vehicle insurance; 

(d) A checklist of all children being transported with any pick-up and delivery times and locations; 

(e) Emergency medical information on each child including parents’ contact information, 
special medical needs, medications, allergies, the name and phone number of the child’s 
doctor, and emergency medical authorization forms; 

(f) When transporting children with chronic medical conditions (such as asthma, diabetes, or 
seizures), their emergency care treatment plans, supplies and medication; and 

(g) A first aid kit that is easily accessible to staff and not to children with contents specified 
in OAR 414-310-0560, Injuries). 

(2) A school-age center must ensure the following safety practices are followed: 

(a) The vehicle doors are locked when the vehicle is moving and when not in use. 

(b) The motor is turned off, the brake set, and the keys removed whenever the driver leaves the 
vehicle. 

(c) No vehicle window, except that of the driver, must be opened to more than 50 percent of 
its capacity when children are on board. 

(d) Children's entire bodies must remain in the vehicle. 

(e) Safe conduct to and from the vehicles and safe off-street loading spaces must be provided. 

(A) Children must be loaded and unloaded only at the curb or at an off-street area 
protected from traffic on the same side of the street as the building they will 
enter. 

(B) If children must cross a street, they must be accompanied by an adult. 

(f) Staff must have clear instructions on handling emergency breakdowns and accidents, 
including vehicle evacuation procedures, supervision of the children, and contacting 
emergency help. 

(g) Staff at the center must know the routine arrival and departure times of the vehicle and 
take action if the vehicle does not return at a scheduled time. 
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(h) Before leaving the vehicle, the driver or the last personnel in the vehicle must inspect 
all areas of the vehicle to prevent a child from being left in the vehicle. 

414-310-0660 Passenger Restraints and Seating 

A  school-age center must meet the following passenger restraint and seating rules to ensure 
children’s safety during transportation: 

(1) The manufacturer’s maximum seating capacity for the vehicle is not exceeded; 

(2) Child passenger restraint systems and seat belts must be used according to law, meet federal 
motor vehicle standards and installed in accordance with the manufacturer’s instructions; 

(3) Restraint systems are properly maintained, such as not expired, recalled, or previously involved in a 
crash; 

(4) Car safety seats or booster seats, whether provided by the child’s parents or the child care center, 
are labeled with the child’s name and emergency contact information; 

(5) Child care children are not permitted to ride in the front seat of a vehicle; 

(6) All adult passengers in a vehicle transporting children, other than a large school bus, must be 
properly restrained by safety belts before starting the vehicle and at all times the vehicle is in 
motion; and 

(7) Vehicles that meet the definition of a school bus that transport passengers in wheelchairs 
must comply with manufacturer’s instructions and specifications. 

414-310-0670  Vehicles 

A school-age center must ensure that all vehicles used for transportation meet the following: 

(1) Vehicles are identified with the center or business entity name that is easily read by the public (e.g. a 
small sign in the rear window or a bumper sticker), unless using contracted transportation or a 
vehicle not owned by the school-age center; 

(2) Vehicles including school buses are in compliance with all applicable state and local motor vehicle laws; 

(3) If a center uses vans designed for 10 or more passengers and manufactured prior to 2010: 

(a) Travel speed may not exceed 50 mph; and 

(b) The vehicle must have an annual safety inspection by a garage, dealership or auto repair 
shop. Proof of inspection must be on the form provided by CCLD or on a form provided by 
the inspector which contains the same information; 

(4) Vehicles have a current license plate and registration as required by Oregon state transportation 
laws, including vehicles driven by volunteers; 

(5) Vehicles are maintained in good repair and safe operating condition at all times; 

(6) The vehicle receives regular maintenance in accordance with the vehicle maintenance mileage 
schedule. This includes, but is not limited to, regular inspections of interior safety features like 
airbags, seatbelts and car seat latch systems. All deficiencies must be corrected before the 
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vehicle can be used for child care transportation; 

(7) The vehicle interior is clean, in safe repair, and free of hazardous items that could impede the 
children’s movement or cause injury if the items were thrown about the vehicle as a result of a 
collision; 

(8) Stationary padded seats with a back are securely anchored to the vehicle; and 

(9) Operable heaters and ventilation maintain an interior temperature comfortable to children and 
between 68 and 85 degrees. 

414-310-0680  Swimming  

(1) A school-age center must have written permission from each child’s parent before engaging in 
any swimming activities. 

(2) A school-age center must provide constant sight and sound supervision of children around any bodies of 
water. 

(3) A school-age center must not use a swimming pool unless it has been licensed by the Oregon 
Health Authority or delegated agent pursuant to OAR Chapter 333, Division 60. (Also see OAR 
414-310-0480, Prevention and Management of Hazards regarding access to pools and other 
bodies of water.) 

(a) A swimming pool must not be used if the main drain cover is missing. 

(b) Each swimming pool more than six feet in width, length, or diameter must have 
immediate access to lifesaving equipment, e.g., a ring buoy and rope, a rescue tube, or a 
throwing line and a shepherd's hook that is long enough to reach the center of the pool 
from the edge of the pool. 

(c) Swimming pools must be maintained, cleaned and sanitized according to manufacturer 
instructions and Department of Health or local health jurisdiction guidelines. 

(4) In natural bodies of water, such as shallow surf, lakes, rivers, and streams, activity is limited to 
wading; swimming is not permitted. 

(5) A school-age center must not permit children to use or have access to a hot tub, spa, portable 
wading pool, or other similar equipment. 

(6) If a school-age center has on-site swimming or is responsible for off-site swimming, the center’s 
written emergency plan (required by 414-310-0180, Emergency Preparedness and Response) must 
also include pool and swimming safety. When a swimming pool is located on the center premises, 
emergency telephone numbers and the center’s address must be posted near an immediately 
accessible telephone in the pool area. 

(7) At all times when children are engaged in swimming and wading activities on or off the premises, a 
school-age center must: 

(a) Ensure that staff are in or at the water and prepared to enter; 

(b) Meet a 1:10 staff-to-child ratio; 

(c) Verify that all adults counted in the staff-to-child ratios are able to swim if the water is more 
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than 48 inches deep; 

(d) Ensure that a certified lifeguard is present and on duty at all times. Center staff lifeguards 
may not count in staff-to- child ratios when more than 10 children are present; and 

(e) Review safety rules with children each time they participate. 

414-310-0690  Animals  

(1) A school-age center must ensure that any animal at the center is: 

(a) In good health and shows no signs of carrying disease; 

(b) Friendly toward children with no signs or history of aggression; 

(c) Kept free of fleas, ticks, and worms; 

(d) Fully immunized including rabies vaccinations for dogs; 

(e) Kept in a cage or tank with the exception of cats and dogs; and 

(f) Not permitted in food preparation areas or on children’s resting surfaces. 

(2) A school-age center may not allow an animal with any history of biting to be on the premises of the 
center. 

(3) A school-age center must prevent any direct contact by children with any animals unfamiliar to the 
center such as a stray. 

(4) A school-age center may allow an animal, other than a cat or dog, such as a poisonous animal, 
reptile, amphibian, monkey, hook-beaked bird, chicken, duck, hermit crab, rodent or ferret on 
the premises only if: 

(a) The animal is housed in and remains in a cage, tank or other measure which precludes any 
direct contact by children; or 

(b) The exotic animal is present as part of an educational program run by a zoo, museum or 
another professional animal handler. 

(5) A school-age center must ensure that all contact between an animal and a child is supervised by staff 
who are close enough to remove the child immediately if the animal shows signs of aggression or 
distress or the child shows signs of treating the animal inappropriately. 

(6) A school-age center must inform parents of any animals on the premises by a clearly viewed notice or 
bulletin, policy handbook, parent flier, or a statement included on the enrollment form (also see 
414-310-0170 Policies). 

(7) A school-age center must have and follow written procedures for the care and maintenance of 
any animals in the center. The procedures must address: 

(a) Responsibility for the handling, care, and feeding of the animal(s). With close staff 
supervision, children may participate in the care of animals. 

(b) At least weekly cleaning and disinfection of pet containers and cages performed in areas not 
used for food storage or preparation and only when children are not present. 

(c) Location of litter boxes in areas not accessible to children or used for food storage or 
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preparation; and 

(d) Prevention of debris spilling out of a container or cage used for pets and animals, if applicable. 

(8) A school-age center must keep animal food supplies out of the reach of children and store them 
separately from food supplies and equipment. 

(9) Animal food must be stored in a manner that does not attract rodents or insects. 

414-310-0700  Monitoring and Investigations 

(1) CCLD may conduct unannounced monitoring visits of a school-age center at least annually for 
the purpose of determining compliance with these rules and terms and conditions of 
certification. 

(2) CCLD may conduct compliance verification visits to a school-age center for the purposes of 
confirming compliance or continued compliance. 

(3) If a complaint alleges that a school-age center is not in compliance with these rules, CCLD 
may conduct an investigation to assess the allegations. 

(a) The investigation may include: 

(A) One or more visits to the center; 

(B) Interviews with the center staff, volunteers, parents of child care children, or 
other individuals who may have relevant information; 

(C) Reviews of records; 

(D) Observations of the school-age center operations; and 

(E) Any action authorized by ORS 329A.390(7). 

(b) Upon completion of the investigation, CCLD will issue a findings letter setting forth 
its determination that a complaint allegation is one of the following with respect 
to violation of these rules: 

(A) Valid, when evidence indicates the violation more likely than not occurred; 

(B) Unable to substantiate, when evidence is conflicting regarding whether the violation 
occurred; or 

(C) Invalid, when no evidence indicates the violation occurred or the evidence 
indicates the violation more likely than not did not occur. 

(c) CCLD may issue a findings letter prior to the conclusion of an investigation when CCLD has 
reached a determination on some but not all allegations. 

(d) Upon request from a school-age center, CCLD must inform the center as to whether the 
center is under investigation by CCLD as of the date of CCLD’s response to the request. 

(4) In connection with a monitoring or investigation visit, CCLD shall provide technical assistance as 
appropriate. 

(5) CCLD certification records are open to the public on request, including findings of complaint 
investigations. CCLD may not disclose information protected by state or federal law. 
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414-310-0710 SANCTIONS: Suspension, Denial and Revocation 

(1) CCLD may immediately, and without prior notice, suspend a school-age center’s certification when, 
in the opinion of CCLD, such action is necessary to protect the children from physical or mental 
abuse or a substantial threat to health, safety or wellbeing. Such action may be taken before an 
investigation is completed. 

(2) If a school-age center’s certification has been suspended, the center must: 

(a) Immediately notify, verbally or in writing, all parents of the suspension; 

(b) Immediately provide CCLD with all names, work and home telephone numbers and 
addresses of the parent(s) or legal guardian(s) for each child; and 

(c) Post the suspension on the main entry door where it can be viewed by parents and 
others for the duration of the suspension. 

(3) If necessary to protect children, CCLD may give public notice of denial, suspension or revocation 
action taken. The type of notice will depend on individual circumstances. 

(4) If a school-age center does not request a hearing and the conditions which resulted in suspension 
have not been corrected, the center’s certification shall be revoked. 

(5) Certification may be denied or revoked if a school-age center: 

(a) Fails to meet requirements or correct deficiencies; 

(b) Fails to correct conditions which resulted in suspension; 

(c) Fails to provide CCLD with information requested; 

(d) Refuses to allow an inspection or allows an inspection only after CCLD has obtained a warrant; 

(e) Is operated or maintained in a manner which is harmful to the health, safety or wellbeing of 
children in care; 

(f) Employs staff or has an operator who is not enrolled in the CBR or whose CBR enrollment is 
suspended; 

(g) Is owned by an individual who has denied or suspended enrollment in the CBR unless the 
center establishes that the owner will not be on the premises while children are in care or 
have access to child care children; 

(h) Knowingly provides inaccurate information to CCLD or causes staff to do so; 

(i) Interferes with the good faith disclosure of information by staff or a volunteer concerning 
the abuse or mistreatment of a child in the school-age center, violations of certification 
requirements, criminal activity at the center, violations of state or federal law or any 
practice that threatens the health and safety of child care children, or otherwise engages in 
conduct prohibited by ORS 329A.348. 

(6) If a school-age center’s certification has been denied or revoked, the center must immediately 
notify all parents of the closure and shall post a notice of the closure where it can be viewed by 
parents and others. The notice shall remain posted for a minimum of 2 weeks. 

(7) A school-age center may appeal any decision to suspend, deny or revoke the certification, subject to 
the provisions of chapter 183, Oregon Revised Statutes. 
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(8) CCLD may report any action to deny, suspend, or revoke a school-age center’s certification to the 
Department of Human Services, USDA Child Care Food Programs, Child Care Resource and 
Referral System. 

(9) If a school-age center’s certification has been denied or revoked for cause, the center is not eligible 
to reapply for a school-age center certification for five years after the date of CCLD’s final order 
denying or revoking the certification for cause. 

(10) If any person, who is enrolled in the CBR, has been charged with, arrested for, or a warrant is out 
for any of the crimes which CCLD has determined indicate behavior which may have a 
detrimental effect on a child, with final disposition not yet reached, certification of such 
person to own or operate a school-age center may be denied or suspended or revoked until the 
charge, arrest, or warrant has been resolved if the person continues to own, operate, be 
employed in or reside in the center, or have access to children in the center. 

(11) A school-age center’s certification may be denied, suspended or revoked if an individual has child 
abuse or neglect history or an open child protective services, child abuse or neglect, or law 
enforcement case that would make the individual ineligible for enrollment in the CBR. 

414-310-0720 Civil Penalty 

(1) CCLD may assess a civil penalty of up to $2500 per violation of these rules or terms and conditions of 
certification. 

(2) CCLD may assess a civil penalty in addition to any other appropriate legal action, considering: 

(a) Numbers of previous violations of the same rule; 

(b) Circumstances surrounding the rule violations; and 

(c) Prior warnings, technical assistance, or legal actions regarding the school-age center’s 
compliance with the rule. 

(3) For a serious violation, as defined in OAR 414-310-0120(39), a school-age center may be subject to 
a civil penalty not to exceed $2500 for each violation. 

(4) For a nonserious violation, a school-age center may be subject to a civil penalty of $800 for each 
violation 

(5) CCLD may assess a separate civil penalty for each day for which CCLD has made a valid finding that a 
school-age center is in violation of ORS 329A.250 to ORS 329A.450, these rules, or the terms and 
conditions of certification. CCLD may assess civil penalties for multiple days in a single action. 

(6) An individual or entity that provides child care subject to registration or certification in a home or 
facility that is not registered or certified with CCLD may be subject to a civil penalty not to exceed 
$1,500 per day of operation of the uncertified facility. 

(7) Notwithstanding CCLD’s decision to impose a civil penalty for one or more rule violations, CCLD 
may also take action to deny, suspend or revoke a certification for the same rule violation or 
violations. 

(8) A school-age center may appeal any decision to impose a civil penalty, subject to the provisions 
of chapter 183, Oregon Revised Statutes. 
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(9) Failure to pay a civil penalty in which CCLD has issued a final order by default or a final order after a 
contested case hearing shall be grounds for denial or revocation of a school-age center 
certification. 
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These rules apply to all child care facilities including certified centers, family child care homes, 

exempt child care providers, recorded programs, regulated subsidy programs, and those who may be 

conducting unlawful care. This ruleset covers the processes and policy which governs how 

CCLD/DELC proceeds in regulatory matters such as investigations, unlawful care, allowable exempt 

care, when a provider may be represented by their union in a contested case hearings process, or 

procedures for when an individual is prohibited from providing care. These rules help to provide 

transparency and a road map for providers and the public in understanding how the agency proceeds 

in these important matters. These rules are reflective of the regulatory authority given to DELC in 

ORS 329A and ORS 326.430. 

 

 

 

 

Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR) Chapter 414, Division 075   
Department of Early Learning and Care 
Child Care Licensing Division 
 
General Rules for Child Care Facilities  
Effective 12/7/2023  
 
 

This copy of the rule book is available on the Department of Early Learning and Care website.  
Additional copies may be downloaded at any time.   
 
For more information or the latest updates, visit: www.oregon.gov/delc 

   
Questions? Email CCLD.Customerservice@delc.oregon.gov 

Call 1-800-556-6616   
 
You are entitled to language assistance services and other accommodation at no cost. If you need 
help in your language or other accommodations, please contact the Child Care Licensing Division at 
503-947-1400.  

  

http://www.oregon.gov/delc
mailto:CCLD.Customerservice@delc.oregon.gov
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414-075-0000 Applicability of Rules 

(1) Except as otherwise specified, these rules apply to all licensed license-exempt, exempt, and unlicensed 
child care providers and facilities including:   

(a) All licensed facilities including registered family child care homes, certified family child care homes, 
certified child care centers, and certified school-aged child care centers;. 

(b) License-exempt child care and exempt care facilities that are required by statute to only employ or 
contain individuals who are enrolled in the Central Background Registry, including but not limited 
to, recorded programs and subsidized care facilities; 

(c) Exempt care facilities providing or claiming to be providing care defined to not be child care in ORS 
329A.250(4)(b)(A) through (H); and 

(d) Facilities, providers, and persons providing or alleged to be providing unlawful care as defined in 
OAR 414-075-0230.  

(2) These rules supplant and do not supersede the rules contained in Chapter 414, Divisions, 61, 175, 180, 
205, 305, 310, 350, 400, 425, and 450 and pertaining to specific child care program types.  In the event 
of a conflict between such rules and these rules, these rules control.  

(3) If any court of law finds that any clause, phrase, or provision of these rules is unconstitutional or invalid 
for any reason whatsoever, this finding shall not affect the validity of the remaining portion of these 
rules. 
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414-075-0010 Definitions 

The following words and terms, when used in OAR 414-075-0000 through 414-075-0300, have the following 
meanings: 

(1) “Certified Family Child Care Home” or “CF” means a child care facility operated in a building designed 
as a single family home or other dwelling that is certified to care for no more than 16 children at any 
one time.  

(2) “CCLD” means the Child Care Licensing Division in the Department of Early Learning and Care.   

(3) “Central Background Registry” or “CBR” means CCLD’s registry of individuals who have been approved 
to be associated with a child care facility in Oregon pursuant to ORS 329A.030 and OAR 414-061-0000 
through 414-061-0120. 

(4) "Child Care Child" means any child six weeks of age or older and under 13 years of age, or a child with 
special needs under the age of 18 who requires a level of care that is greater than that of their same 
aged peers, for whom a licensed or subsidized child care facility, or a facility for which a license is 
required, or a license-exempt child care facility as defined in this rule, has supervisory responsibility in 
the temporary absence of the parent. 

(5) “Child Care Facility” means any facility that provides child care to children, including a certified child 
care center, certified school-aged child care center, certified family child care home, and registered 
family child care home. It may include those known under a descriptive name, such as nursery school, 
preschool, kindergarten, child play school, before and after school care, or child development center, 
and does not include license-exempt child care or exempt care, as defined in this rule. This term applies 
to the total child care operation. It includes the physical setting, equipment, staff, provider, program, 
and care of children.  It does not include a license-exempt child care facility as defined in this rule.  

(6) “Child Abuse or Neglect” means as defined as “abuse” in ORS 419B.005 including but not limited to 
physical abuse, emotional abuse, sexual abuse, negligent treatment or maltreatment, and threat of 
subjecting a child to a substantial risk of harm to the child’s health or welfare.  

(7) “Child Protective Services” or “CPS” means the program as defined in OAR 413-015-0115. 

(8) “Civil Penalty” means a fine imposed by CCLD for violation of one or more applicable rules or statutes.  

(9) “Complaint” means written or verbal information received from any source that a facility is providing or 
has provided care in a manner potentially in violation of a state law or administrative rule within the 
authority of CCLD.  

(10) “Employee” means an individual engaged to work full or part time in a facility. This includes all 
caregivers and any individual who functions other than as a caregiver for children. 

(11) “Exempt Care” is care provided by a caregiver that is within an exception to the definition of “child 
care” in ORS 329A.250(b)(A) through (H) or as otherwise provided by rule (see OAR 414-075-0250(3) 
and is not described in ORS 329A.250(4)(a)(A) or (B).    

(12) “Exempt Care Facility” means a facility that provides only exempt care as defined in this rule.  

(13) “Exempt Prohibited Individual” means an individual who is by law prohibited to provide child care or 
exempt care, except to children related to the individual by blood or marriage within the fourth degree 
of sanguinity as determined by civil law, as defined in ORS 329A.252(1)(a) through (e) and described in 
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OAR 414-075-230. An exempt prohibited individual is ineligible for enrollment in the Central 
Background Registry except for limited enrollment as described in 414-061-0020(27)(b). 

(14) “Facility” means an individual, group of individuals, or entity that is caring for or is alleged to be 
providing care for any child younger than 13 years or younger than 18 years with special needs who 
requires a level of care that is greater than that of their same-aged peers for whom the individual, 
group of individuals, or entity has responsibility in the temporary absence of the parent, legal guardian 
or custodian .   

(15) “Family” for purposes of determining if children are from the same family or if a child is in care by a 
member of the child’s extended family as referred to in OAR 414-075-0250 means a group of individuals 
related by blood, marriage or adoption, or individuals whose functional relationships, such as residing 
together, are similar to those found in such associations. 

(16) “Finding” means a written determination by CCLD staff with respect to information received, a 
complaint, or an observed noncompliance with a requirement in ORS 329A.030 or ORS 329A.250 
through 329A.500 or rules adopted by the Early Learning Council pursuant to ORS 329A.030 or ORS 
329A.250 through 329A.500.   

(17) “For Cause” means that the reason for a denial or nonrenewal of a license or enrollment in the CBR or 
the revocation of a license or removal from the CBR was based on a determination that: 

(a) With respect to a CBR application or enrollment, an individual was found not suitable after a review 
of history, including but not limited to criminal, child abuse and neglect, negative foster care 
certification, or negative adult protective services history, and of information related to the history; 
or 

(b) With respect to a license, the licensee failed or fails to meet licensing requirements and is or has 
operated in a manner which is harmful to the health and safety or wellbeing to children. For 
purposes of this rule, “harmful” means posing a risk of or actually causing physical, emotional, or 
mental damage to child care children, and includes but is not limited to any violation of:  

(A) A requirement designed to protect children from physical hazards;  

(B) Applicable guidance and discipline rules involving inappropriate punishment; 

(C) A requirement to exclude from the facility a person who has demonstrated behavior that may 
have a detrimental effect on children; 

(D) A requirement to report suspected child abuse or neglect;  

(E) A requirement involving safe sleep for infants; or 

(F) Applicable supervision rules resulting in: 

(i) A child escaping the facility;  

(ii) A child being left behind from or on a field trip without supervision; or  

(iii) A child being injured when the injury could have been prevented with proper supervision.  

(18) “Investigation” means the collection and review of information received by CCLD of prompted by an 
allegation of a rule or statute violation including but not limited to a cross-report of a child abuse and 
neglect received by law enforcement or the ODHS, or other information received by CCLD. An 
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investigation includes but is not limited to a tandem investigation as defined in this rule and includes 
any activities as listed in ORS 329A.390(7) or OAR 414-075-0130. 

(19) “Licensed” means the state of having an active registration or certification issued by CCLD. 

(20) “License” means an authorization from CCLD to operate a registered family child care home, a certified 
family child care home, a certified child care center, or certified school-age child care center. 

(21) “Licensee” means an individual to whom a registration or certification has been issued by CCLD. 

(22) “License-Exempt Child Care” means child care that is not required to be licensed because it is provided 
as described in ORS 329A.250(5)(a) through (i).   

(23) “License-Exempt Child Care Facility” means a facility that provides only license-exempt child care as 
defined in this rule.  

(24) “Noncompliance” means being in violation of a requirement contained in statute or rule for the 
applicable type of facility.      

(25) “Observed Noncompliance” means a noncompliance observed by CCLD staff including information 
observed in a facility’s records. 

(26) “Occasional care” means care that is provided for no more than 70 days in any calendar year for the 
purpose of the supervision and guidance by a person, sponsor, or organization not ordinarily engaged in 
providing child care for children, as defined in this rule, for not more than 70 days, or for enrichment 
activities that coincide with the non-school days in the Oregon public school system. 

(27) “ODHS” means the Oregon Department of Human Services.   

(28) “Ordinarily engaged in providing care” means that the facility has been issued a current child care 
certification or registration, is a license-exempt child care facility as defined in this rule or represents or 
advertises to the public as available to provide care for children on an ongoing basis.  

(29) “OTIS” means the Office of Training, Investigations and Safety in ODHS. 

(30) “Parent” means a parent, custodian, or guardian exercising physical care and having legal custody of 
the child. 

(31) “Person” means an individual human being, an entity to whom CCLD has issued a record or a license to 
operate a certified child care center or certified school-aged child care center, or an individual or entity 
operating a license exempt child care facility.   

(32) “Premises” means the physical location used or alleged to be used by a facility to provide care subject 
to regulation or investigation by CCLD, including all indoor and outdoor areas not directly used for child 
care.  

(33) “Provider” means an individual in whose name a license or approval to receive payment for subsidized 
care is issued.  

(34) “Recorded Program” means a facility to whom CCLD has issued a record to operate a preschool or 
school-aged recorded program. 

(35) “Registered Family Child Care Home” or “RF” or “Registered Facility”  means in a the residence of a 
provider to whom CCLD has issued a license to operate a facility in the family living quarters pursuant to 
these rules and OAR 414-205-0000 to 414-205-0170.  
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(36) “Regular operating hours” means the days and hours of operation as requested by a child care facility 
and approved by CCLD, except:  

(a) A registered family child care facility that has not requested and obtained approval by CCLD of 
regular operating hours:  

(A) Providing night care is considered to have operating hours of 24 hours per day, seven days a 
week, if providing night care.  

(B) Not providing night care is considered to have operating hours of 5:00 am to 9:00pm, Monday 
through Friday.  

(b) Regular operating hours also include any time that a child enrolled in or regularly attending a 
certified or registered facility is present at the facility including before or after the approved 
operating hours, unless:  

(A) The child resides in the facility; or 

(B) The child is present at a registered or certified family child care home for a social event as 
described in OAR 414-075-0250(2)(b).  

(37) “Sensitive Allegations” means allegations that in the judgment of CCLD staff should not be discussed 
in the hearing of child care children who are present and old enough to understand a conversation that 
would necessarily include discussion of sexual activity or sex abuse or any individual’s personal medical 
information or medical or disability diagnoses. 

(38) “Staff” means, as applicable:  

(a) For a facility, the provider and any other individuals employed in the facility regardless of 
compensation, including a volunteer who is in the facility for more than a single activity; or 

(b) For CCLD, any individual employed by the agency or authorized to act on behalf of the agency, 
including but not limited to investigators, licensing specialists, managers, or other employees. 

(39) “Subsidized Care” means the care, supervision and guidance on a regular basis of a child, 
unaccompanied by a parent, guardian or custodian, provided to during a part of the 24 hours of a day, 
paid for in whole or in part by public funds administered by the Department of Early Learning and Care. 

(40) “Subsidized Care Facility” means any facility that provides subsidized care to children, including a day 
nursery, nursery school, child care center, certified, registered or exempt family child care home or 
similar unit operating under any name, for which payment for child care is made by the Department of 
Early Learning and Care.   

(41) “Superseding Finding” means a finding in a findings letter that replaces a finding included in a 
previously issued letter.    

(42) “Tandem Investigation” means an investigation conducted by CCLD jointly with representatives from 
partner agencies, including but not limited to ODHS and its divisions or units.  

(43) “Unlawful Care” means care provided by a person or entity who is not licensed or recorded when a 
license or record is required pursuant to ORS 329A.255, ORS 329A.280 or ORS 329A.330, and as 
described in OAR 414-075-0230. 

(44) “Unlicensed” means the status of providing care without an active license issued by CCLD including 
while providing license-exempt child care or exempt care.   
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414-075-0130 Complaints and Investigations  

(1) Unless already open regarding the same allegations, a complaint will be opened based on CCLD’s 
receipt of any of the following concerning licensed facilities, recorded programs, or unlicensed facilities 
alleged to be providing care for which a license or record is required:   

(a) A cross-report of child abuse or neglect from law enforcement agencies, ODHS, or OTIS, including a 
report that was closed at screening; 

(b) A report or information from or forwarded by another state or local agency or governmental unit; 
    

(c) A report or information from facility staff; or  

(d) Information received from the general public. 

(2) CCLD will encourage an individual or entity making a complaint to provide CCLD with their identity and 
contact information, subject to ORS 329A.390(4) prohibiting CCLD from disclosing the name, address, or 
other identifying information about the individual or entity that made the complaint, except as 
follows:   

(a) CCLD may share contact information for the individual or entity that made a complaint within the 
CCLD or with any agency or individual performing a tandem investigation with CCLD related to the 
complaint for purposes of confirming factual information or obtaining additional information; and  

(b) CCLD may disclose to an individual that it received a cross-report from law enforcement agencies, 
ODHS, or OTIS when such cross report is the child abuse or neglect history that has triggered a 
review of the individual’s suitability for enrollment in the Central Background Registry, but may not 
disclose the name, address or other identifying information about the individual or entity that made 
the report to law enforcement, ODHS, or OTIS.  

(3) CCLD may investigate any complaint that alleges a violation of a health and safety requirement received 
regarding any facility, including licensed facilities, recorded programs, and subsidized care facilities, as 
provided by these rules when the allegations indicate noncompliance with a provision in ORS 329A.250 
to 329A.500 or a provision in Oregon Administrative Rules Chapter 414, Divisions, 175, 180, 205, 305, 
310, 350, 400, 425 or 450. 

(4) CCLD may investigate any complaint that a facility as defined by these rules and including but not 
limited to individuals providing or claiming to be providing exempt care, is providing unlawful car as 
described in OAR 414-075-0230.   

(5) CCLD may investigate any facility for which CCLD has reason to believe or has received information that 
child care is being provided without a required certification, registration, or record.  

(a) For purposes of determining if the child care requires a certification, registration, or record, CCLD 
may request the facility to provide information concerning the identities of the children in care and 
how they are related to the caregiver and to each other. 

(b) If the facility does not provide CCLD with the information concerning the identities and relationships 
of the children in care as requested, CCLD may assume that care for a group of more than three 
children requires a certification, registration, or record from CCLD.  

(6) CCLD may conduct an in-person visit at any reasonable time of any facility to investigate a complaint. 
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(a) An in-person visit is at a reasonable time at any time at least one child care child is in care at a 
licensed facility or is alleged to be in care at the facility. 

(b) An in-person visit is at a reasonable time at any time CCLD reasonably believes a child may be in 
care at an unlicensed facility. 

(7) CCLD staff may, but is not required to, use any method of investigation authorized by ORS 329A.390(7). In 
conducting an investigation CCLD staff may:  

(a) Make one or more visits to the facility under investigation to inspect the premises. 

(b) Receive, take, record, document, and review evidence. 

(c) Interview staff, volunteers, parents of child care children, or other individuals who have  

relevant information.  

(d) Request documents related to the matter under investigation. 

(e) Inspect and observe the operations of the facility.  

(f) Investigate collaboratively with partners. 

(g) Take the depositions of witnesses, including the person under investigation, in the manner prescribed by law 
for depositions in civil actions;  

(h) Compel the appearance of witnesses, including the person under investigation, in the manner prescribed by 
law for appearances in civil actions; 

(i) Require answers to interrogatories;  

(j) Compel the production of books, papers, accounts, documents or testimony that pertains to the matter 
under investigation; and 

(k) Issue subpoenas. 

(8) A registered, certified, recorded, or subsidized care facility must provide records or other documentation, and 
allow CCLD access to the facility for the purpose of conducting an investigation as required or permitted by ORS 
329A.390 or these rules.  CCLD or the Department as applicable:  

(a) May revoke for cause or deny for cause renewal of a registration, certification, record, or approval 
of subsidized care facility if access to the facility or its records has not been permitted.   

(b) May obtain a search warrant to obtain access to a facility as provided by ORS 329A.410 when access 
has not been permitted.  

(c) May revoke for cause or deny for cause renewal of a registration, certification, record, or approval 
of subsidized care facility when access was denied and later permitted only pursuant to a search 
warrant. 

(9) If the provider denies CCLD access to the premises or to facility staff for purposes of conducting an 
investigation of a complaint, CCLD may reach a valid finding based solely on other evidence 
independently obtained and that reasonably could have been corroborated or contradicted by 
information from the visit or interviews that the provider did not allow. 

(10) A provider or licensee must provide truthful, complete, and accurate information to CCLD staff in 
connection with any application, records or reports including attendance records, written or verbal 
communication, inspection, visit, or investigation. 
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(a) When an applicable rule requires information to be provided immediately, it must be provided 
during the visit or if not in connection with a visit within 24 hours of CCLD’s request.  

(b) Information not required by rule to be provided immediately must be provided within 48 hours of 
CCLD’s request for it to be considered in the investigation.  CCLD may issue a finding without 
reviewing information provided more than 48 hours after CCLD’s request.  

(11) An individual who is questioned by CCLD in connection with an investigation of a complaint may 
refuse to answer specific questions or provide documents by stating that the refusal is based on the 
privilege against self-incrimination, including when the answer to the question or the documents, if 
produced by the individual, would furnish a link in the chain of evidence needed for a criminal 
prosecution.  CCLD is not required to inform an individual of this rule prior to questioning the individual.  

(12) CCLD may conduct compliance verification visits to a facility for the purposes of confirming compliance 
or continued compliance. 

(13) CCLD may conduct an unannounced complaint or compliance verification visit at any reasonable 
time. When deemed appropriate in the judgment of CCLD staff, including when the complaint contains 
sensitive allegations as defined in these rules, CCLD may choose to conduct interviews or portions of 
interviews during the complaint or compliance verification process by telephone, video-conference, or 
email in addition to an in-person visit.  

(14) The facility must prioritize children’s needs during any in-person visit and may not rely on the presence 
of CCLD staff at the facility to justify noncompliance with any requirement.  

(15) CCLD staff are not required to assist the facility in achieving compliance in response to an observed 
noncompliance and CCLD staff: 

(a) May not be counted by the facility for purposes of meeting ratio requirements. 

(b) May not contact parents to pick up children for purposes of achieving compliance with capacity, 
ratio, or group size or composition requirements.  

(c) May suggest to the facility specific actions to achieve compliance, including sending children home 
to achieve compliance with capacity, ratio, or group size or composition requirements.  

(d) May document whether a facility took immediate steps to achieve compliance or refused to do so.  

(16) The CCLD staff assigned to investigate a complaint must review and consider all evidence and 
documentation timely submitted by the facility as required by 414-075-0130(10) prior to issuing 
findings. 

(17) When the requirements for issuance of an emergency order of suspension or conditions are met, CCLD 
may take action prior to completion of an investigation based on facts confirmed in the pending 
investigation.  

(18) A CCLD investigation of a complaint is ongoing until CCLD staff has issued findings with respect to all 
potential noncompliances alleged in the complaint or identified in the investigation.  

(19) Unless the facility has closed before CCLD issues a finding on a complaint, CCLD staff may issue one of 
the following findings with respect to each complaint investigated by CCLD, and may issue separate 
findings with respect to each potential regulatory or statutory violation based on the fact(s) confirmed 
in the investigation:  
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(a) Valid, when a reasonable person could conclude the noncompliance occurred based on the 
evidence; or 

(b) Invalid, when a reasonable person could not conclude that the noncompliance occurred based on 
the evidence; or  

(c) Unable to Substantiate, when a reasonable person could not decide whether the noncompliance 
occurred because of conflicting evidence or because information is not available. 

(20) An individual may become an exempt prohibited individual if they surrender their registration, 
certification or CBR enrollment during a CCLD investigation. See OAR 414-075-0230. 

(21) If a facility has closed before CCLD has issued a finding on a complaint because of a voluntary 
surrender or lapse of the license including because a timely renewal application was withdrawn, CCLD 
may complete the investigation and issue findings or may close the investigation as incomplete.  If CCLD 
has closed an investigation as incomplete, CCLD may resume the investigation at any time including if 
the licensee applies to reopen the license or for another license.  

(22) A CCLD investigation for which findings on all allegations have been issued to the facility will be 
reopened only as follows:  

(a) CCLD will reopen an investigation if it has information that was not considered in the initial 
investigation that if confirmed could change the outcome, and CCLD has determined that reopening 
the investigation is necessary.  

(b) CCLD must notify the facility when it has reopened an investigation.  

(c) CCLD staff conducting the reopened investigation must issue superseding findings following the 
investigation that is reopened whether or not the outcome of the original finding is changed. 

(23) A child care facility may not interfere, discourage, or attempt to prevent a parent, legal guardian, 
current or former employee or volunteer from disclosing information to CCLD, law enforcement, any 
other entity with legal or regulatory authority over the facility, or to a child’s parent concerning 
allegations of any of the following as provided by ORS 329A.348: 

(a) Abuse or mistreatment of a child in the child care facility; 

(b) Violations of licensing requirements; 

(c) Criminal activity at the facility; 

(d) Violations of state or federal laws, or 

(e) Any practice that threatens the health and safety of a child in the child care facility. 

(24) Interference with good faith disclosures as described in section (23) of this rule includes: 

(a) Terminating or threatening to terminate care of a child if the parent or legal guardian of child 
discloses the information; or 

(b) Asking a parent or legal guardian of a child or, employee or volunteer to sign a nondisclosure or 
similar agreement prohibiting the disclosure of the information; or 

(c) Communicating to or training a current or former staff, volunteer, parent, or legal guardian that they 
may not or should not disclose information. 
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414-075-0230 Exempt Prohibition, Unlawful Care, Civil Penalties  

(1) An individual is an exempt prohibited individual as a result of any of the following circumstances as 
provided by ORS 329A.252: 

(a) The individual has had their registration, certification, or record denied for cause or revoked for 
cause.  

(b) The individual is not enrolled in the Central Background Registry because of removal for cause or 
denial for cause.  

(c) The individual voluntarily surrendered their child care license or enrollment in the Central 
Background Registry during a CCLD investigation or after CCLD has given the individual notice of an 
administrative action against the individual or the individual’s facility.    

(d) The individual is suspended from the Central Background Registry.  

(e) The individual is licensee of a license that is suspended.  

(f) The individual has been issued a final order to cease and desist by CCLD after a contested 
proceeding or that has become effective because the individual did not request a hearing.   

(2) An exempt prohibited individual may not provide child care or exempt care as defined in these rules 
except for their own children or children related to them within the fourth degree of sanguinity as 
determined by civil law. 

(3) An exempt prohibited individual: 

(a) Remains an exempt prohibited individual for five years after the most recent dates of a 
circumstance resulting in the status as described in section (1) (a) through (c) and (f) of this rule and 
continues to be an exempt prohibited individual unless and until re-enrolled in the Central 
Background Registry. 

(b) Is no longer an exempt prohibited individual if the sole basis for the status is a suspension as 
described in section (1) (d) or (e) of this rule and CCLD has withdrawn the suspension by final order. 

(c) May be enrolled in the Central Background Registry with a limited enrollment as defined by OAR 
414-061-0020(27)(b) if meeting all requirements for a limited enrollment. 

(4) “Unlawful Care” means care provided by the following to a child not related to the person within the fourth 
degree of sanguinity as determined by civil law: 

(a) By a person who is not licensed or recorded when a license or record is required pursuant to ORS 320A.255, 
ORS 329A.280 or ORS 329A.330. 

(b) By an exempt prohibited individual as provided by ORS 329A.252(2)(b). 

(c) By a person who is not licensed or recorded when a license or record is required pursuant to ORS 320A.255, 
ORS 329A.280 or ORS 329A.330. 

(d) By a person enrolled in the CBR under a limited enrollment: 

(A) As defined in OAR 414-061-0020(25)(a) when the care violates a restriction or condition agreed to by the 
person; or 

(B) As defined in OAR 414-061-0020(25)(b) when providing care while having unsupervised access to a child 
care child who is not the child of the person.  
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(e) In the home of a child, to children all from only one family in addition to children who reside with 
the person, or to no more than three children in addition to children who reside with the person, by 
an individual who is not enrolled in the CBR and was issued a founded or substantiated disposition 
for child abuse: 

(A) On or after January 1, 2017 involving a child who died or suffered serious injury as defined in 
ORS 161.015. 

(B) On or after September 1, 2019 and in the last seven years, when the founded or substantiated 
disposition of a child abuse or neglect report involved any child for whom the individual was 
providing care in the following settings:  

(i) In a licensed or license-exempt child care facility as defined in these rules;  

(ii) By a babysitter or other person in the home of the child;  

(iii) By a person related to the child within the fourth degree of sanguinity as determined by civil 
law; 

(iv) By a person who cares for children from only one family in addition to children who reside 
with the person;  

(v) By a person who cares for no more than three children in addition to any children who 
reside with the person; or  

(vi) By a person who is a member of the child’s extended family, as determined by CCLD on a 
case-by-case basis.  

(5) A person who has provided unlawful care as defined in these rules, including but not limited to unlawful 
care by an exempt prohibited individual, may be subject to a civil penalty of not more than $1,500 per 
violation.  

(a) CCLD may provide a warning rather than assess a civil penalty for a person’s first instance of 
providing unlawful care if CCLD determines the person was not aware that the care was unlawful 
care as described in section (4) of this rule or that a license was required.  

(b) The civil penalty assessed against a person determined by final order to have provided unlawful care 
on a single day will be $750 for the first instance of unlawful care for which a penalty is assessed.   

(c) Each additional day that person provides unlawful care is a separate violation for which CCLD may 
assess a civil penalty of not more than $1,500 for each day the person is determined by final order 
on default or after a contested case hearing to have provided unlawful care.  

414-075-0250 Operating Hours and Care Not Requiring a License 

(1) A facility may provide care without a license if the facility:   

(a) Provides care in the home of the child by a babysitter or other person;  

(b) Is the child’s parent, legal guardian or custodian;  

(c) Is related to the child by blood or marriage within the fourth degree;  

(d) Is a member of the child’s extended family unit, as determined by CCLD on a case-by case basis;  
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(e) Provides only occasional care as defined in these rules;  

(f) Is a provider of medical services;  

(g) Provides care for children from only one family, in addition to any children who reside with the 
person;  

(h) Provides care for three or fewer children, in addition to any children who reside with the person;  

(i) Provides care for preschool-age children that is primarily educational for 4 hours or less per day and 
where no preschool-age child is present at the center for more than 4 hours per day;  

(j) Provides care for school-age children that is not intended for child care purposes and is primarily a 
single enrichment activity, such as swimming lessons, dance lessons, tutoring, music lessons, sports 
practice, or any single class in any subject, where no child attends for more than 8 hours per week;  

(k) Provides group athletic or social activities sponsored by or under the supervision of an organized 
club or hobby group. This exclusion applies only to the time engaged in the group athletic or social 
activities;  

(l) Is operated by a school district, charter school, political subdivision of this state, or a government 
agency;  

(m) Operates as a parent cooperative for no more than 4 hours a day and:  

(A) Care is provided on a rotating basis by parents that are members of the cooperative; and  

(B) Are overseen by a board of directors responsible for developing written program policies and 
procedures that are shared with all members.  

(n) Provides care while the child's parent for the child remains on the premises and is engaged in an 
activity on-site, and:  

(A) The facility informs the parent that the facility’s program is not licensed by the state; 

(B) Activities in which the parent is engaged do not include work; and  

(C) Caregivers are always able to contact the parent.  

(o) Provide youth development activities, as defined in ORS 329A.250(14), to school-age children during 
hours that school is not in session and which does not take the place of a parent’s care. 

(2) Care provided to children who do not reside in a licensed facility requires a license if provided by a 
licensed facility during the licensed facility's regular operating hours, as defined in these rules. 

(a) Care provided to a child who is enrolled in a licensed facility who arrives before or remains after the 
facility’s regular operating hours and is in care for any part of the facility’s regular operating hours 
requires and is subject to all requirements of the facility’s license.  

(b) A child who ordinarily receives care at a registered or certified child care home facility and is present 
at the facility outside of the facility’s regular operative hours for a social event is not subject to the 
requirements of the facility’s license only if the facility has informed the parent that that the facility 
is not providing child care and that the care is not subject to license requirements.  

(A) Care described in paragraph (2)(b) of this rule is not eligible for payment from the Employment 
Related Day Care program.  
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(B) Care for a child who is enrolled in a licensed child care is subject to all requirements of the 
facility’s license if any of following exist regardless of whether the facility has informed the 
parent that the care is not subject to license requirements:  

(i) The parent pays the facility for the care;  

(ii) The child is in care for the purpose of providing care, supervision and guidance while the 
child’s parent is unavailable due to work, school, or another activity; or 

(iii) The child is in care outside the facility’s regular operating hours on a regular basis.  A facility 
regularly providing care outside its regular operating hours must notify CCLD and request 
approval to change the operating hours to include the days and hours that care is regularly 
provided.  

(3) Care may be provided without a license: 

(a) At the location of a license-exempt child care facility, as defined in these rules, by a caregiver 
operating or employed by a license-exempt child care facility, for their own child or any child who 
resides with the caregiver before, during, or after their hours of employment at the license-exempt 
child care facility, as allowed by the license-exempt child care facility.   

(b) By a person, including a person who operates an exempt care or license-exempt child care facility, 
providing occasional care as defined in these rules during summer, winter and spring school breaks 
if the facility is ordinarily closed during such breaks.  A licensed facility may not provide occasional 
care during periods that the facility is closed unless the license has been surrendered or has expired.  

(c) In the following combinations of exempt care:  

(A) Care by a babysitter or other person in the home of the child, in addition to one or more 
children who reside with the babysitter or other person.  

(B) Care by a child’s parent, legal guardian, or custodian, in addition to children who are related to 
the child’s parent, legal guardian, or custodian by blood or marriage within the fourth degree as 
determined by civil law.  

414-075-0300 Union Representation in Contested Case Hearings 

(1) A labor union representative who is not an attorney holding an active license issued by the Oregon 
State Bar may represent the following providers in a contested case hearing conducted by the CCLD or 
the Department: 

(a) The licensee under a registered or certified family child care home license; or  

(b) An individual who provides subsidized care in the home of the individual or the home of the child 
that is not required to be licensed. 

(2) When representing a provider, a labor union representative may present evidence, examine and cross-
examine witnesses and make arguments relating to the: 

(a) Application of statutes and rules to the facts in the contested case; 

(b) Actions taken by CCLD in the past in similar situations; 

(c) Literal meaning of the statutes or rules at issue in the contested case; 
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(d) Admissibility of evidence; and 

(e) Proper procedures to be used in the contested case hearing. 

(3) A labor union representative may not make legal argument on behalf of the provider.   

(a) “Legal argument” does not include arguments listed in section (2)(a) through (e) of this rule.  

(b) “Legal argument” includes arguments on: 

(A) The jurisdiction of CCLD to hear the contested case; 

(B) The constitutionality of a statute or rule or the application of a constitutional requirement to the 
CCLD; and 

(C) The application of court precedent to the facts of the particular contested case proceeding. 

(4) Union representatives must read and be familiar with the Code of Conduct for Non-Attorney 
Representatives at Administrative Hearings, which is maintained by the Oregon Department of Justice 
and available on its website at: https://www.doj.state.or.us/wp-
content/uploads/2017/06/code_of_conduct_oah_contested.pdf (Amended October 1, 2011).      

(5) If the administrative law judge determines that statements or objections made by the labor union 
representative appearing under section (1) of this rule involve legal argument as defined in this rule, the 
administrative law judge shall provide a reasonable opportunity for counsel for the provider to appear 
and present argument at the hearing or to file written legal argument within a reasonable time after 
conclusion of the hearing.  

(6) A labor union representative must obtain and provide to CCLD and to the Office of Administrative 
Hearings (OAH) the written authorization of the provider to being represented by the labor union 
representative prior to beginning representation or communicating with CCLD or the OAH on behalf of 
the provider regarding the contested case.  

(7) An authorized labor union’s representation of a provider in a hearing may include the activities 
described in section (3) of this rule and:   

(a) Communicating with CCLD without the presence of the provider regarding procedural matters 
including but not limited to scheduling;  

(b) Assisting the provider in preparing and filing proposed exhibits and witness list;  

(c) Making stipulations of fact; 

(d) Agreeing or objecting to the admissibility of evidence based on relevance; or 

(e) Being with the provider during any settlement negotiations including by telephone or video-
conference.  

(8) An authorized labor union’s representation of a provider in a hearing may not include:  

(a) Entering into binding settlement agreements on behalf of the provider;  

(b) Issuing subpoenas for witness attendance at the hearing.  

(A) If a provider determines that a necessary witness is unwilling to testify, the provider or an 
authorized labor union representative may request that CCLD subpoena the witness by 
submitting a written request including the name, phone number, physical address, and 
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description of anticipated testimony to CCLD no less than 30 calendar days before the date 
scheduled for hearing.  

(B) CCLD is not required to subpoena witnesses on behalf of the provider unless CCLD agrees that 
the testimony of the witness is necessary for a full and fair hearing.  

(C) CCLD is not required to subpoena witnesses on behalf of the provider for a hearing on an 
emergency order suspending a license or Central Background Registry enrollment or imposing a 
condition on a license.  

(D) CCLD will notify the provider or authorized labor union representative of whether it will issue a 
subpoena pursuant to the request within 10 business days of receipt of the request.  

(E) If CCLD does not agree to subpoena the witness as requested pursuant to this subparagraph, the 
provider may retain counsel to represent them in the hearing and issue the subpoena.  

(9) A provider who is or becomes represented by an attorney in a contested case hearing may not be 
simultaneously represented by an authorized labor union representative, and the notification of 
representation by an attorney shall operate to rescind any prior authorization for a labor union 
representative to represent the provider. 

(10) Sections (3) through (8) of this rule do not apply to an attorney who appears as counsel for the 
provider in a contested case before CCLD or the Department.  
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